Knowing What You Want

a poem

ADEOLA SHEEHY-ADEKALE
The Honest Perspective

--

Image by Nikko Macaspac on Unsplash

I want something I don’t have language for
Something that deviates from the known path
Something only found when we leave safety behind

I want the security of love
Without the sniper fire of logistics and frustration
I want the receptivity of friendship
Without the exhausted indifference of complacency

I want the spark of conversation
When we haven’t shared every waking moment
I want touch that feels like coming together
After separation

I want the old you
Before you drowned under the weight of life
I want the old us
When we had enough love left over for each other

The you that still survives
Smiling at me from time to time
The us that holds on by fingertips
The flaking glue to this creation

I don’t know the how
But I know the what
Is it enough for a first step?

This piece was taken from my debut collection ‘Climbing In The Dark’.

To read more of my work and support my writing buy me a cup of tea to keep the creative fires burning and sign up to receive a weekly love letter into your inbox on Monday morning sign up here.

--

--

ADEOLA SHEEHY-ADEKALE
The Honest Perspective

Writing on female experience, race, motherhood & self-development. Columnist at Green Parent magazine & Parenting Top Writer. Follow me on IG @adeola_moonsong.