Lifestyle | Habit | Routine

The Clatter of a Thousand Footsteps

“amour-de-soi” as such sauntering along somewhere to reconnect with oneself and the surroundings.

Afiani Rui
The Honest Perspective
5 min readSep 2, 2023

--

Photo by Delphine Beausoleil on Unsplash

When I need to relieve stress and clear my mind, I find that doing yoga or going for a walk is the most refreshing activity.

For the past month, I’ve made yoga a regular part of my routine. I use a habit tracker to help me stay consistent and do this every day. And my fondness for walking can be traced back to a childhood routine: taking leisurely walks across my hometown on days off from school.

Where there were still many stretching rice fields and rivers that had not receded. My friends and I went for a walk barefoot because we thought “it would be therapeutic” to use uneven asphalt and smooth rocks on rural roads. And without feeling guilty, we also often reap other people’s plantations; fruits, flowers, and mostly sugar cane to enjoy together.

Walking is a lot of fun, especially when we’re with someone we can keep a conversation going with. Walking with a view, conversation can flow easily between seemingly unrelated topics, and even distant locations can feel closer than they actually are.

--

--

Afiani Rui
The Honest Perspective

Personal blog. Highly interested in history, culture, and literature.