The Fearless Dark

--

a poem

Image by Christian Holzinger on Unsplash

I used to fear the dark
until I realized it had always lived inside me
the feminine dark of the night sky
the still darkness of possibility and power

I used to fear the silence
until I realized it lived at my core
the silence of calm strength
the full silence where all sound is born

I used to fear being myself
until I realized there was nothing else I could be
the body, the mind, the wild heart
all completely unique to me

I am the fearless dark
I am the roaring silence
I am all the power and potential reflected in you

If you are new to this platform, you can Join Medium here to read more stories

--

--

ADEOLA SHEEHY-ADEKALE
The Honest Perspective

Writing on female experience, race, motherhood & self-development. Columnist at Green Parent magazine & Parenting Top Writer. Follow me on IG @adeola_moonsong.