When Hope Leaves

ADEOLA SHEEHY-ADEKALE
The Honest Perspective
1 min readMay 31, 2022

--

a poem

Image by Egor Vikhrev on Unsplash

The weight in my chest is sudden pulling me down as decades of dreams fall

The room expands an echo of the gulf between us
my gasping breath sharp in the silence left by the slammed door

The world becomes a blur as I hold my breath
the tears mutiny and fall

I am lost unravelling pieces of identity alongside the plans we created together

I press my back to the wall seeking the support
you have pulled away
my legs shake as I fall

The ground meets me its touch the opposite of the quicksand I expect as hope walks away

If you are new to this platform, you can Join Medium here to read more stories.

This is a piece from my debut collection which will be released next month, Climbing In The Dark.

--

--

ADEOLA SHEEHY-ADEKALE
The Honest Perspective

Writing on female experience, race, motherhood & self-development. Columnist at Green Parent magazine & Parenting Top Writer. Follow me on IG @adeola_moonsong.