Photography

Monochrome Madness #3

An Exploration in Black and White Photography

Mangus Khan
The Howlin’ Inkwell

--

Last month, I focused on articles concerning Mental Health Awareness. During this, my fellow inkwellian, Molly Blythe, suggested I do a series of articles dealing with art therapies and the wonderful impact they could bring to people dealing with various issues.

Unknown to her, I’d been dealing with my demons. So, I considered what she suggested and began doing research. I always like to provide a personal touch to my articles; I dusted off the camera bag. I also forced myself to sit and work with some photo editing software.

Here are the results of my research:

Let’s take a look …

Photo by Author (MK)
Photo by Author (MK)

The above photos were shot in RAW with a Nikon D3200 w/70–210mm lens. The editing suite I used for these photos is Adobe Photoshop Express on my iPad. A tremendous number of filters can be applied; however, I haven’t figured out if you can perform serious editing in PS Express. However, I do enjoy the easily applied effects to already processed photos.

Photo by Author (MK)

With the above photo, I switch things up. I used my Samsung phone using the Expert RAW app. Expert App is available for free in the app store and is easy to use. For the editing of this photo, I used Lightroom Classic.

As I learn more about photography, I share things I find interesting. If you made it this far, thank you for your time.

Thanks, ~M~

Thank you for reading!

--

--

Mangus Khan
The Howlin’ Inkwell

Writer, daydreamer, and reader with a day job on the side. I can be found usually tweeting, ranting on my blog, or drinking coffee staring out the window