MICROPOETRY

A Chant in the Woods

Under the Cicadas’ Spell

Samantha Lazar
The Howling Owl
Published in
1 min readMay 8, 2024

--

Photo by Catherine Kay Greenup on Unsplash

I walk mesmerized
by murmurings
a chant in the woods
an arrival: OM ॐ

the sweet singing
of orange-eyed cicadas:
I am transported from the trail
as the vibration carries me
beyond my crown

the poplar and loblolly
shimmer below me
as I rise
through a sunbeam
reversing my gravity

as though I, too,
am metamorphosed
from nymph to winged
and am called

to create life
from my life
I float on this rhythm
and May breezes

until gently tucked
under the cicadas’ spell
into honeysuckle
to glow
and dream

Samantha Lazar 2024

Thank you so much for reading. And thank you to the editors of The Howling Owl.

You may also enjoy some other nature poetry. Here’s a short story about hiking in the canyons of Utah to see the Anasazi ruins. It’s an ode to a scorpion.

--

--