MICROPOETRY

A Single Drop of Rain

Free verse poetry

Connie Song
The Howling Owl

--

Credit Bianca Van Dijk on Pixabay.com

It’s half past yesterday and time
becomes so fleeting. Tell me
where does the day go? I feel it
evaporate into night. Life is a melting
snowcap. The unwinding of the clock.
A wayward helium balloon that escapes
my grasp. Unstoppable. Impenetrable.
Give me something to latch on to.

Something that feels like love.
Why not create some beauty?
Isn’t there enough ugliness
and pain in this fractured,
sutured world
to unwrap my reptilian brain
and filter the tip of my corrugated soul?

Why not listen to the silent moments,
to the setting of the sun
or the eclipse of the moon?
To the bending of the willow
or the amethyst of a broken heart?

I daily rest my head upon the chopping block
and the serrated edge is sharp
but I cross the street and live my truth
much like a wave
of the ocean
or a single drop of rain.

I’ll whisper
‘you do you and I’ll do me’
words will flow
and somehow our paths
just might intersect.
Until then, let there be moments
of melted moonlight and poetry.

© Connie Song 2024. All Rights Reserved.

--

--

Connie Song
The Howling Owl

Reader | Writer | Poet | Medium Top Writer | Twitter Connie Song 10.