POETRY

Loving my Father

In Memoriam

Somya Baral
The Howling Owl

--

Loving Father

From the day I saw you to the day you leave
There remains the dust it sifts through.
Who will do what for you, and what can they ever do?
Will you give a shout and let it echo in our ears?

You climbed few steps away
You try dodging the headstone
You know there will be no going back
You had the smoker’s lungs
We had to live with this as secrecy
Yet we step aside
and spread our arms with love
Will you ever abide?

I am sitting idle with hurting heart
for the whole day and night, I’ve waited endlessly
We know you won’t return.
Yet waiting to believe if paths will ever cross.

Doctors failed you, the wilful soul
Your charming and alluring smile
would be hard to state
You have been covered with sheets
to attain some privacy for your silence.

Do you hear the loud cries and tears?
Did you even fight your fears?
fact was not that you never listened
Your pretty smile has always glistened.

However cruel and unfeeling this world is,
You fabricated a life filled with joy.
As you leave, the hole blackens and empties
Your legacy left over with aching hearts in place
Come back, O' dear; life means a lot with your trace.

Thank you for reading

Somya Baral

This poem of mine is dedicated to my father-in-law, which I wrote on the night he left us, as I did not know how to share the grief.

A man of principles and with radical thinking, yet gracious and very kind-hearted. That’s my father-in-law, and I knew him only for 12 years. He died last year battling on ventilator support when his organs started giving up one by one, but till his last breath, I have seen him fight for himself.

Everyone loved him, and he was a dear person to his family and friends. We were devastated by the loss, but we grew stronger as a family and cared for each other even more. He was the kindest soul I have known.

I also felt God had his way of showing us the courage to heal. I learned this the hard way, though.

How to let go of the sorrows and be on the mend.

For more poetry of mine:

Poetry by Somya

--

--

Somya Baral
The Howling Owl

Hello Friends !! Travel and Poetry had always been my passions. I love writing poetry and meet new people. You can reach me at oflyingbird@gmail.com