MICROPOETRY

Monkeys in the trees

human frailty

Charles Source
The Howling Owl

--

Photo by author

Monkeys groom in the trees
outside my window
in this still morning light
as jealous thoughts
of deception
& accountability
course through my head
(Where were you last night?
Why didn’t you respond
to my message!
)
and I direct my thoughts
to Tibetan Buddhist
teachings,
hoping they’ll relieve
this oppressive pain
and rage I feel,
succor my violent
emotions of possession
& lust
before I do something foolish
& succumb
to my most afflictive self …
but, alas, I still feel this hatred
& this hell
as my seething insides fail
to recede
and feeling trumps abstract teaching
once more
as I find myself wishing
to be born again
as a peaceful silent playful monkey
grooming in these trees
with no thought
of tomorrow or today.

--

--

Charles Source
The Howling Owl

Many of my poems reflect my "wanderer" lifestyle. Thanks for reading, etc.