3 Doubts Behind Every New Idea

David Powers
The Hum
Published in
4 min readJan 26, 2018

Brittany DiCapua, a WPI graduate who works as an applications project manager, built The Boston Food Journal (BFJ) in October 2015, a social media marketing platform leveraged by restaurateurs and business owners in MA, NH, ME, and NY, which has grown to over 20,000 social followers in less than two years.

With a desire to bring the powerful potential of social marketing to local businesses, she recently founded Starr Social Media.

In 2015, I created The Boston Food Journal (BFJ) — a social media marketing platform and blog site used to generate awareness and drive customers to restaurants and businesses in New England.

In just under two years, the BFJ developed into a well-respected brand with over 20,000 social media followers. I have been able to create efficiencies and opportunity using the impact of social marketing, especially in the food and dining industry.

I realized that the next step in my evolution would be to leverage what I have learned and create a social consulting business; a niche field with limited subject matter experts. This was my lightbulb moment. My desire is to bring the powerful potential of social marketing to businesses naive to this next generation phenomenon.

Starr Social Media has been in development for over three months. I sat on the idea for weeks before actually beginning. Why? Because of my doubts. Overcoming doubt is central to the success of every new idea. I would like to share with you the doubts that almost prevented me from pursuing my new endeavor.

Am I good enough?

I am a biomedical engineer turned software project manager with social knowledge I have acquired only through immersion in my personal platform. Was this enough?

I was able to overcome my self-doubt when I realized social consulting is something I do daily with the BFJ. I am a natural at it. I’ve helped numerous small business owners develop and foster their social accounts, turning them into major marketing resources.

I have come to believe that any knowledge source can be leveraged successfully in even the most unrelated trades. In my case, I leveraged knowledge from engineering and project management to establish metrics and methodologies in the social media domain that has led to increased success for many businesses.

Am I Too Busy?

I hear almost daily from family, friends, and peers that I am already too busy. Balancing a full-time job with the BFJ is a challenge, so why add something else to the mix?

Perhaps I’m crazy, or perhaps I find I perform better under a heavy workload. The truth is, when people ask me how I do it, I tell them that these types of projects are my outlet. It is not work when you enjoy what you’re doing.

Days where I bite off more than I can chew (sometimes literally), I just give myself a break. It is my love of social media combined with a desire to help businesses succeed and adapt to this ever-changing field that fulfills me. This is my passion. There is always time in the day to feed your passion.

Stereotyping

Engineers don’t always practice engineering. Finance majors don’t always work on Wall Street. In creating Starr Social, I struggled with the fact that I may not be utilizing my engineering degree. I thought a lot about this and realized that was a stereotype.

Don’t let stereotypes interfere with the pursuit of your personal journey. Although I never imagined myself as a social consultant, I have been open to the path that has developed before me. It is okay to fear the unknown, but don’t let it be a doubt that prevents you from achieving all you can be.

In closing, I hope to be an influential resource for businesses of any size and type. I know I can help businesses looking to start, grow, or optimize their social presence. I have acquired many skills through the development and operation of the Boston Food Journal.

That being said, the most powerful lessons I have learned through this journey are personal. I have overcome doubts to emerge stronger and more confident in my abilities and who I am as an engineer, a project manager, a blogger, a consultant, but, more importantly, a person.

We cannot thank Brittany enough for sharing not one, but two amazing pieces with The Hum. If this inspired you, share it with your people with the links below.

--

--

David Powers
The Hum
Editor for

Engineering Manager at Advanced.Farm, Former Co-Founder and CEO at The Hum, Former Owner at Bleed True LLC, Management Engineering Student at @WPI