Crooked Paths by Brittany DiCapua

David Powers
The Hum
Published in
3 min readFeb 10, 2018

Brittany’s knack for food photography and her hilarious caption game have made @bostonfoodjournal one of our favorite follows on Instagram. Check out her account and let the drooling begin.

I spent four years of my life studying to be an engineer. Yet, my decision not to be one was easy.

I crunched and crammed for exams on organic chemistry, calculus IV, plastics, and heat transfer. I spent numerous, long nights in the library typing up papers on cardiac stints and degradable sutures. I spent early mornings (and I’m talking 4:00 am early) staring at plates of cells in the laboratory waiting for the moment it would finally interest me.

I spent my final collegiate months trying to understand how I would fit into the mold my future projected.

Then one day I realized: I didn’t.

I loved engineering. I am inherently programmed with a knack for math, science, and problem solving. I much prefer ‘black and white’ over theoretical discussions yielding flashes of grey (as I believe most engineers would).

But, during my senior year of college I discovered more about myself. During group projects, I found myself shying away from the science and research aspects. Rather, I seamlessly assumed roles of project management. In doing this, I learned that I am an eloquent speaker with the ability to communicate in simplistic yet impactful ways. I also developed and embraced a deep love for the arts: specifically photography, design, drawing, and digital art.

Of course, one would think that the natural next step for an engineering student would be a job in engineering (just as one would think a medical student would pursue medicine). I found myself surrounded by classmates who were pushing to land careers in big-time pharma companies, renowned laboratories, or even graduate school engineering programs.

I found myself wanting the opposite.

Immediately post college I started work as a technical project manager; a role that allowed me to flex my authoritative/managerial tendencies but still remain in the technology and software vector.

But there was still a gap. At times, I tried to hide the fact that I was missing an artistic, creative outlet in my life. I was so laser focused on my career, that I lost sight of my passions.

In October 2015, I took a chance and created a platform that channeled my artistic hungers and long existing love of food into one entity: The Boston Food Journal (BFJ).

The Boston Food Journal (@bostonfoodjournal) is a social media platform and blog site that aims to highlight the food and dining industry in and around Boston. I partner and promote restaurants, brands, and technology applications through photography, written content, and social strategy.

I was hesitant to create the BFJ. I questioned whether or not I had the skills to develop a social presence. More importantly, did I even have the time? I feared that my friends, family, and peers would make fun of me or even worse, doubt me.

But in under two years, I developed the BFJ into an account reigning over 15,000 Instagram followers. I create and foster solid relationships with numerous marketing agencies, restaurant owners, managers, and social groups. Every day I wake up excited to create content, try new restaurants, practice photography techniques, and share these experiences with my peers. The work I do has nothing to do with project management, software, or technology…let alone biomedical engineering.

And that’s just how I like it.

What is my point? Go for it.

Don’t be afraid to pursue your passions; they are equally as important as your professional obligations. Skills are skills, and they can be leveraged to fit any mold you so desire.

Our paths are crooked, not straight.

Brittany is the founder and operator of The Boston Food Journal (BFJ), a popular Boston based food blog and Instagram account. Through photography, blog content, videography, and other marketing tools, the BFJ acts as a strong social influencer for local restaurants, businesses, and technology applications throughout New England.

--

--

David Powers
The Hum
Editor for

Engineering Manager at Advanced.Farm, Former Co-Founder and CEO at The Hum, Former Owner at Bleed True LLC, Management Engineering Student at @WPI