Dueling with ‘Différance’

The concept is intimidating yet integral to the study of literature

Rimi Nandy
The Humanities in Transition
4 min readJun 20, 2020

--

Image from flicker.com

I will speak, therefore, of the letter a, this initial letter which it apparently has been necessary to insinuate…into the writing of the word difference; and to do so in the course of a writing on writing…intersecting with a kind of gross spelling mistake, a lapse in the discipline and law which regulate writing and keep it seemly.

— Jacques Derrida, Différance

Critical theory is an elusive subject. I first met this alien species during the final semester of my Master’s degree in the year 2011.

It was the first time I realized that pursuing further studies would become impossible without understanding the vast expanse of critical theory.

I started asking myself:

how can this subject be so important when it only lives in a theoretical space?

My battle with theory began with Aristotle, moving through the different phases to reach the peculiar realm of Deconstruction.

My world fell apart!

The First Meeting

Suddenly, I came face to face with Derrida, the standard bearer of deconstruction.

An inside joke prevailed.

In Bengali a male senior is often referred to as da affectionately. Then began the deconstruction of Derrida’s name into Derri- da. A popular comic character in Bengali Literature is Teni Da. So Derri Da became the brother of Teni Da.

But no amount of joking could solve the grueling task of fathoming Derrida.

Derrida unfolded his thoughts in his seminal essay “Différance”.

My first reaction was: isn’t the word spelled wrong? It took me sometime to realize that différance was a “different” word.

I started reading the essay with mild trepidation. The jumble of words entangled my thoughts into an intricate net. A sharp tug would break it.

Hence I had to slowly untangle the meaning of an essay connected to meaning of meaning.

Twisted? Exactly how I felt.

Untangling

Reading the essay on my own, I struggled to understand the concept. Then it was explained by our professor. It finally made sense.

As I re-read the essay, its meaning became clearer. I spent hours inside the National Library referring to various other texts which would further clarify the idea of différance.

I was fascinated with the theory propounded by Derrida. So much so that I ended up attempting to answer a question from “Différance” for my end of semester examination.

It had left an indelible mark on my understanding of meaning, language, literature and society as a whole.

What is ‘Différance’?

In this same essay, Derrida explains the origin of the term:

‘Différance’, in simplest terms can be explained as a combination of two words namely, ‘difference’ and ‘deferral’ . This word explains how the meaning of a word is always deferred. The common example I use to explain the idea of ‘différance’ is, when one refers to a pen as a tool used for writing, one also refers what the pen is not. Meaning the word pen on one hand represents the image of a pen but at the same time it refers to objects which are not a pen, namely a table, a chair and so on.

Looking back and looking forward

Critical theory initially appeared to be too critical. However, as I continued my tryst with the field of critical theory, it became integral to my understanding of texts and context.

The notion of the deferral of word meaning fascinated me. I have always thought about why I have the name that I have.

Ferdinand de Saussure explains the relation between an object and its name as arbitrary. When connected to différance, Saussure’s concept opens up new avenues of interpreting texts.

Today I find myself trying to explain Derrida in simple terms to undergraduate students.

When I studied the essay, I felt that if I had been introduced to the concept of deconstruction earlier, I would have derived a better understanding of literature, language and society.

The acquisition of meaning is integral to the study of literature. The importance of meaning is not restricted to literature alone, but it ties together various fields, creating a space for the nourishment of interdisciplinary studies.

Is critical theory important?

Critical theory is essential. However, the structure of its essays — combined with difficult terms — makes it scary.

Every theory can be very easily explained in fewer terms. But as tradition dictates, theories are never penned down in simple word structures.

Derrida’s différance is a theory which I believe is and will be relevant to every date and age. The importance of word and meaning making will never become anachronistic.

Deconstruction as a whole explains the macro and micro structure of every subject that I can think of.

I end with one question:

Can critical theory be simpler?

Want to find out more? Check out Derrida: A Very Short Introduction on Amazon.

--

--

Rimi Nandy
The Humanities in Transition

An academician and researcher with a penchant for analyzing and understanding the various aspects of social media. Reading ,writing are both very close to heart