Eat a Balanced Diet

Eugene
The Humble Celeryman
2 min readMay 9, 2021

--

The diet everyone talks about but no one knows what it is

Photo by JJ Jordan on Unsplash

Quote from Cleanse to Heal

Balanced diet — you’ll hear the term everywhere as a guiding principle about how to eat. That’s supposed to be the great wisdom about food. Funny thing is, every single person has a different definition of what a balanced diet is, because no one eats exactly the same way.

Probe anyone when they’re eating cheat food. I bet they would say “We should have everything in moderation” or “Don’t worry. I eat a balanced diet.”. I’m just as guilty. Ice cream? Eat in moderation. Bread? It can be part of a balanced diet. Never mind that I’m lactose and gluten intolerant. Moderate those ills away!

Needless to say, I was foolishly lying to myself.

Regarding a balanced diet, I held an unshakeable belief that each individual needed a diet tailored to their body’s make-up and their lifestyle. For some, like me, eating meat is necessary. For others, vegetarian is perfect. How to find that out? Experiment.

I began as a raw vegan in 2012, returned to largely plant-based diet in 2014, started on designer multi-vitamins in 2016, turned vegetarian in 2017, switched to Nutritional Balancing in 2018, piled on Dr Hyman’s UltraMind Solution and Dr Mercola’s KetoFast in 2019.

Every protocol helped in its own way but none took me to full recovery. The mythical balanced diet evaded me until I found the Medical Medium.

--

--

Eugene
The Humble Celeryman

Engineer by day. Cuisinier by night. Writer by the spur of the moment.