How to Write an Amazing Best Man’s Speech

Tips and tricks on how to get you through the big moment

Jamie Jackson
The Humo(u)r Mill

--

There’s a chance Google brought you here as your sweaty, shaking fingers typed “best man speech tips” or “how to write a funny best man speech” or “how to not make a fool out of myself giving a speech in front of 200 people when the last time I did any public speaking was at school assembly when I was seven, and even then I pissed my pants.”

Well fear not my friend, here is an honest and clear guide to what this daunting task involves, what is expected of you and how to avoid the common pitfalls you’ll encounter.

Read this, ace your speech and then bathe in the glory of your success forevermore, or at least, for that evening.

Why You Should Read This Guide

So, what are my credentials, you might ask? Good question. Well, I’m just an ordinary guy who’s done four best man speeches.

That’s Right. Four.

The first one was mediocre, the fourth was an outright, barnstorming success (even though the wedding wasn’t in a barn). I’ve learned the lessons and earned my stripes.

I’ve been at the burning coal face of the silent, expectant marquee full of guests, I’ve had the restless sleep the night…

--

--

Jamie Jackson
The Humo(u)r Mill

Between two skies and towards the night. // Email me: jamiejacksonati [at] gmail [dot] com