Howard’s Track Team Sprinting into Season

Husky Howler
The Husky Howler
Published in
2 min readApr 11, 2022

by Kayla Murphy

The 2021–2022 Track season has begun!

The Howard track team has been practicing non-stop for their upcoming track meets. The girls and boys have committed with their coaches to get to the best point they possibly can be at in their season this year, striving to be better than ever before.

Coaches Frankie O’Neal and Travis Reece have strived to encourage their athletes to be the best they can be.

“I encourage all my track athletes just to compete and do their best because just like in life, whatever you put onto track is what you’re going to get out,” O’Neal said.

Howard Huskies practicing. Photo by Nakeira Mallory

Sixteen-year old, Trinity Wilkins, Class of 2024 is a member of the girl’s track team who said the coaches not only motivate her but make her want to improve in the sport.

“My coach helps me improve by making me race people that are faster than me, so it makes me want to build up my speed and endurance,” Wilkins said.

One of the main activities that are recommended in track is the high jump and triple jump. The High jump is a field event in which you jump over a pole backward over a set height, and the triple jump is a field event where you jump in three phrases as far as you can, then landing with your heels in the dirt.

Video edited by Mitchell Zhang

If you are interested in joining track but are unsure how to join, Coach O’Neal will be happy to answer any questions you have.

“If you know me,” O’Neal said, “just come talk to me, and I’ll try to ease your mind so you can just come out and run and just have fun. It’s about being around your classmates and just seeing what you got. Never know what you got until you try”.

Howard’s track team is on the road to having a great season this year and many people are wishing the athletes good luck when their time comes to shine.

--

--