She’s Here To Serve!

Husky Howler
The Husky Howler
Published in
2 min readMar 13, 2023

By Lauryn Canty

Howard’s 2023 Tennis Team.

I had the honor of getting to know more about our Howard High tennis coach. Her name is Mrs. Winborne and I have had the honor of being on her team for 2 years now. While the team knows her as family, it has recently come to my attention that not many students know much about her.

Where and what do you teach?

“I teach elementary gifted students at Sonny Carter Elementary. I serve students from Sonny Carter, Lane, Union, and John Lewis. I have been teaching for 25 years, with 13 of those in Bibb County.”

Where did you learn so much about tennis?

“I began playing tennis when I was nine years old. I had several coaches and played competitive tennis all over the south. I was ranked as high as #2 in Georgia as a teenager, and in the top 20 in the South. Tennis got me a scholarship for my undergraduate, but I was injured during my first season and had to quit due to surgeries.”

What made you want to come coach for Howard? How long have you been the coach?

“I have always wanted to be a high school tennis coach. Since I had to quit playing myself, I wanted to share my knowledge and love of the game with students. This is my second year of coaching and I love it!”

What is your favorite thing about coaching a high school team?

“I spend all day with elementary students. I love interacting with older students and sharing the game of tennis. The players make my day- they make me laugh so much!”

--

--