Keep Grinding And Stay Motivated

Dayo Koleowo
The Hustle Grind
Published in
3 min readMay 6, 2016

I love being an entrepreneur. It is just a natural feeling for me. In fairness, being an entrepreneur has given me the freedom to express myself, improve on the skills I had before, meet a lot of great people, and learn a whole lot of things I probably won’t have learnt if I still had my job. However, it has been one heck of a journey folks.

Self-doubt has crept in many times during this journey. Situations have gone from bad to worse sometimes. Things have felt so hard to accomplish. Tasks being worked on have dragged on and on. Then you start to wonder if you made the right decision.

So here are a few things to do to keep you grinding and motivated against all odds:

  1. The big picture. What’s it all about, anyway? Have you forgotten? Most of us do, to one extent or another, because we’re focusing on the daily grind. Do whatever it takes to keep your goal in sight. It’s very important. Find that image that represents your goal and hang it in your line of vision. Thinking about why I’m working so hard always re-energizes me!
  2. Have a hobby. What gives you joy outside of work? If you have trouble answering this question, then you may have a problem. One thing I enjoy doing is watching a good movie or playing games with my friends. This takes the stress of most times cos for me, it is always fun all the way. So anything that will give you joy, it could be music, could be running, could be reading, could be hanging out with friends, whatever it is, do it when you feel tensed up.
  3. Ask for help. I’m not always shy to ask for help especially when it concerns entrepreneurship or running a business. Don’t always wait too long to ask! When I find myself stuck, I think of someone who could be of help and I either shoot the person a mail, send a Twitter DM or text the person. Listen very carefully but ask lots of questions also. Some people are just good at getting you back on track. Have them close!
  4. Positive vibes. Do you have people that give you negative vibes? You don’t want to be around them folks. Surround yourself with people who are positive and who have your best interest at heart. You need all the support you can muster as the entrepreneurs’ journey could be a lonely one. When down, the last thing you want is someone digging a hole and burying you. It doesn’t have to be a crowd, just some few people is all you need to give you that positive vibe.

Staying motivated isn’t easy, especially when the goal you’re working towards seems as far out of reach as ever. Try not to get too down on yourself. Likewise, don’t get too excited when things are going well! Always remember why you became an entrepreneur.

If you have other tips for grinding and staying motivated against all odds, kindly share in the comment section below.

--

--

Dayo Koleowo
The Hustle Grind

More Good Times Than Bad | Partner @microtraction | Host @HustleGrindPod | #MUFC!!!