Connecting an IoT device to Hut34 - the easy way

The road to monetising IoT data

Matt Szwec
Hut34
3 min readMay 10, 2018

--

My name is Matt. I’m an engineer, developer and new to the Hut34 Project.

Prior to joining the Hut34 team I worked with The Cognitive Company on computer vision, IoT and machine learning solutions. These are all applications that will thrive on Hut34's decentralised network. One of my tasks as the project proceed will be working on making network connections easier for both customers and enthusiasts alike.

My first week has been awesome! In place of dry and boring inductions that you may expect I have been exploring what the Hut 34 Platform has to offer. Currently the platfrom is live as a Proof of Concept deployment, and transacting real ENTRP tokens on the ethereum mainet. During this time I have been knee deep in Rasberry Pis, sensors, and IoT devices in general — here’s how I connected my first device to the Hut34 network;

Connect a smartphone (an IoT device!)

This is super quick and gave me a good feel for how Hut34 integrates with existing services.

  1. Sign up to Allthingstalk *;
  2. Click connect device;
  3. Choose quick demo;
  4. Use the QR code or tiny url to connect your phone to the Allthingstalk webb app;

That’s it. If you’ve done this correctly your phone will be beaming data to Allthingstalk*, which will display the current state of the device. They pick this data up through your browser.

Allthingstalk dashboard

Connect to Hut34

Allthingstalk* provides an API endpoint that can be called to retrieve the current state of your device (always read the docs). This is great as that’s how The Hut integrates with other services. To connect your device to the hut:

  1. From the The Hut dashboard click register a device;
  2. Enter details for your device;
  3. Select the Allthingstalk option for connection type;
  4. Enter your Device ID and Token ID into these fields. Get these from your device dashboard at Allthingstalk, from settings > authentication;
  5. Click register.
  6. Youre done.

With your phone now connected to The Hut you can start generating ENTRP when data is requested.

Connecting a device to the Hut34 Platform

What next?

I also used Allthingstalk for a Raspberry Pi integration. Briefly, it involved installing the allthingstalk SDK and writing a script to send data from the Pi to their platform. Their platform acts as a relay. The connection to Hut34 was the same as above. If this is something that interests you comment below and I’ll share the details.

Over the next few weeks I’ll share more about things I have built and connected on the the Hut34 Platform including connecting iot devices— the hard way. This is a more powerful custom solution that uses more web services than I’ve had hot dinners.

Keeping AWS in business.

Please follow us here and on twitter to read about more things I’ve built and comment below with ideas of what you’d like to see next.

Right now I’m thinking a chatbot that serves up Jimmy Barnes trivia or an air quality sensor stream.

*Allthingstalk is not related to the Hut34 Project in any way. We just think its a great way to get started with IoT, connect to Hut34 and start earning ENTRP tokens!

--

--