Use this simple body language trick to feel better!

Strike a Pose!

Sharon M. Perez
The Hypnosis Herald
2 min readSep 28, 2018

--

As a hypnotist, I am always looking for new (or old) methods to help my clients feel better. I think most of my colleagues are like this too. So I wanted to share a new-to-me body language technique I am sharing with my clients. To quote Madonna: strike a pose!

It’s what kind of pose you adopt that makes all the difference. Almost every hypnotist studies the body language, posture and appearance of his or her clients at the first session, so we can notice differences as they begin to improve and feel better at subsequent sessions. But now I am taking an active role in suggesting changes in posture to my clients. Why?

In her 2012 Ted Talk, “Your language may shape who you are,” social psychologist Amy Cuddy talks about the way our moods shape our body language and posture.

The idea is that every mood (sad, happy, triumphant) has a corresponding posture. When you feel sad and defeated, your shoulders slump, your head hangs down and your back may be slouched. When something wonderful happens and you are very excited, you adopt the “YES! posture” (as I call it): see the illustration above.

The flip side of this is that you can adopt a posture and soon you will feel the emotion normally associated with that posture. This can change your mood. Say you are feeling a little down. Adopt the YES! posture above

(and I recommend you actually enthusiastically say YES! or ALL RIGHT! a few times as well) for two minutes and notice how different you feel.

Another good posture to adopt is the Superman pose. To do this, stand with your legs apart, chest and head held high, arms angled and fists at your his. Look up and smile! Hold this pose for two minutes (I know it seems silly but try it) and notice the difference in how you feel.

Use this easy but effective body language trick to alter your mood for the better whenever you need it.

Originally published at greaterhoustonhypnosis.com on September 28, 2018.

--

--