#ReVision

Jaclyn Cole
I Am A Creator - The Collective
2 min readJan 2, 2017

--

I am done checking boxes
I am no longer concerned with thinking outside them
The truth is I never moved through the world that way.
My reality is built in concentric circles
A constant looping back and rolling forward
A sankofa style labyrinth
I am re-centering.

So it no longer matters if they see my strength
Acknowledge the source and existence of my power
For the divine has already named it, ordained it
And I will reflect my truth
Even as they see me in a million nameless black girl faces.

Because I stand on the shoulders on giants
Sit with my own thoughts in the silence
Kneel before the alter to lay down my burdens
Because I was born with no laurels to rest upon
While my circumstances maybe uncertain
I am sure my successes are embedded
In the answered prayers of ancestors.

In that moment I decided to wake up
To walk away from the sleepwalkers
Daring to daydream a gifted future
I put my past to rest
And awaken to the adjacent possibilities
A life revisited, then reimagined.

When love propels us
Where faith sustains us
How dreams inspire us
Into the New world order
We desire and design…

TODAY.

We at ‘I Am A Creator — The Collective’ and Spyka encourage you to start 2017:

* REFLECTING on the divine,
* REMEMBERING the ancestors,
* RELEASING negativity,
* RECALLING your purpose, &
* RECLAIMING your power.
#ReVision2017 #JointheChallenge

Check out IAmACreatorCollective.com to learn how to join the Collective and follow I Am A Creator Collective on Twitter. To get stories from #IAmACreator in your Medium feed, recommend this story or click follow us on Medium to receive our newsletter.

You can also find this entry on our blog at IAmACreatorCollective.com.

--

--

Jaclyn Cole
I Am A Creator - The Collective

Creator. Coach. Consultant. Daughter, Sister, Child of the Diaspora, and Global Citizen.