The Identity Current Is under New Management

When dumping responsibility is a good thing

Amethysta
Identity Current
3 min readDec 28, 2023

--

The Purple Cat dings at midnight 🌙- image by the author via Midjourney

Last week, I published an article detailing my intent to discontinue publishing content to Medium. I promised I would give more details around the Publication I currently own: The Identity Current.

I do not take any responsibility lightly, and the Publication is no exception. When I leave an organization, I leave it better than when I arrived, and I ensure those who remain behind are forewarned and forearmed.

This week, I began the process to transfer The Identity Current to a new owner. I hoped the transfer would occur before I wrote this article, but suffice it to say it will happen soon.

Before I go, please indulge my maudlin tendencies as I pay homage to all who blessed me, loved me, and empowered me in my work at Medium.

A blessing upon Identity Current Writers

When I began this Publication, it was to break out on my own after being disillusioned by directions other Publications took. Each of you has trusted me and lifted me. There are close to 200 articles published in The Identity Current after only a year of existence. My wildest expectations were surpassed.

To Amber Poe, Kay Blue Rose, Anna B., Nova, ChaosWrites, Davi McCrea, Gülya Kerimoğlu, K.C. Phipps, Alyssa McDonald, Ari Jensine 🦄✨, being belinda, Blackthelma, Deborah Schwarz, Eda Özçelik, Inari Mulastar, Enseda Fustian, Rose Golden, Jas Martinez, Jill Eng, Jack L, Joanna Mills, Josie Defaye, Julianna, Kitty Whitemore, Simply Sophia, Miserable KANT ☢, Lilith Helstrom, Megan, Penofgold, Preethi 🫧, Stephanie Moga, SteviLeeAlver, Tara Horne, Adrianne, Tucker Lieberman, Evangeline Rose:

A blessing upon each and every one of you. May you receive everything you deserve. 💜

My love to Identity Current Editors

It takes many people to create a flow of thought. Both of you listened to me as I cried, consoled my thoughts of injustice, and upheld me before I fell.

To Jenny Starr✨, and Saoirse:

I love you, my Sisters. I honor you for your support editing and publishing. I am honored by the Writers you’ve brought to the Publication. May you receive everything you deserve. 💜💜💜

A circle of power to the new Identity Current Owner

Dropping a mantle is difficult. I hesitated long over whom to approach to assume ownership of The Identity Current. In the end, I approached the woman who — at the brink of a very poor decision — caught me by the scruff of my neck and pulled me back to the world.

To Doro Volkova:

I wish the very best for you, Sister. Even though I think you dismiss it as faerie stories for a silly girl, I’ve pushed so much love and energy your way, I fully expect to see you glow. May you receive everything you deserve. 💜🏳️‍⚧️💜🌙⭐

Farewell

Best of fortune to you all! May 2024 be the year we all become precisely who we are meant to me.

--

--

Amethysta
Identity Current

I no longer publish on Medium - please go to https://amethysta.io to follow me on social media. Then go to https://genderidentitytoday.com to read my work!