Dress Codes, Minimums and What’s with Steakhouses Anyway?

Jennifer R. Povey
The Illusion of Choice
4 min readJun 1, 2021

--

Photo by Tim Toomey on Unsplash

My favorite steakhouse was Ray’s the Steaks, and I may never replace it. You could wear jeans, they spent money on food and wait staff not on frippery and tableclothes and the food was always so good.

But most of the time, I avoid American steakhouses. They’re the kind of places I’ll go if somebody hauls me.

And one of the reasons is, yeah, those dress codes.

Steak 48 Hitting the News — and Not in a Good Way

Most steakhouses do have a dress code. Usually it’s a recommendation for business attire or smart casual wear. For example, the dress code for Ruth’s Chris recommends business casual, exiles people who wear ball caps to the bar, and bans gym wear, pool attire, tank tops, “offensive” graphics or language, and revealing clothing or exposed undergarments. Not fantastic if they’re going to yell at a woman for a slipped bra strap, but it’s pretty much what business casual is.

Compare the dress code for Steak 48, which varies by location but is much more complex…

The one I found above has gendered hat rules (for some reason, women can wear hats other than a ball cap, but men can’t wear hats at all…with no exception for yarmulke, as far as I can tell). Sports bras are also forbidden…

--

--

Jennifer R. Povey
The Illusion of Choice

I write about fantasy, science fiction and horror, LGBT issues, travel, and social issues.