Dino sense — it ends abruptly

An epistolary short story of two dinosaurs.

Ashwini Petchiappan
The imaginist

--

Hi! I am Docu, a diplodocus.

Year 79,000,000 Day 21
Cretaceous Period

Dear Loci

I did I did I did write to you last month but that rock-skulled pterodactyl lost it. What the blasted heck is wrong with them? They NEVER keep their beaks shut. The tiny ones can barely fly 2 metres, and the big ones are always blabbing about things supposedly only they can see because they can fly the highest. Show-offs. I made sure to pick a teenage ptero this time so he stays mid-level height. I hope it works.

OMG! There is a T-Rex running 20 metres from me, and a bunch of those tiny dinos are throwing eggs at him! Seriously this forest-city life is getting too much for me. Not one minute of peace –

Oh! Those fireballs in the sky again! Do you think they are dragons? Will dragons, actual dragons come live with us? That would be so amazing! I wish I could be a dragon, shooting fire in the sky –

OUCH! My neck still hurts. All 20 feet of it. I don’t know how much longer I can survive in this pain of a place eating just –

WHAAAA –

OMG Loci, that T-REX died! That T-REX died! They killed him by throwing eggs? How??? HOW??? I’m gonna go check. I hate this place, Loci. I hate it.

Yours,
Docu

Hello, I am Loci the velociraptor.

Year 79,000,000 Day 55
Cretaceous Period

Dear Docu

WTH girl, your letters give me a headache every time. Are you okay? And there’s no way that T-Rex died because of egg-throwing. Maybe he just tripped and fell.

The ptero you sent this time reached. But jeez, such attitude.

And those “fireballs” are just meteor showers, Docu. Bits of rock catching fire as they pass through the air. Dragons don’t exist! Honestly, you’re talking like males these days. Use your brains a bit.

You should come here for a bit and live by the sea. It’s so soothing. There are stars in the sky, and sea stars in the sea. Even those tiny snakes come staring at the light breaking in the water… And become easy meals for me.

Life is easy here. So easy that I wonder if there should be more to this. It almost feels wrong. Should we be doing more than just eat and sleep?

Those meteor showers… I wonder if they are a sign — of changing times. Maybe there is more to this life than we thought. We are going to be more than we are now. Who knows, perhaps even greater than your dragons? Some day, perhaps, other creatures wouldn’t fear us as monsters. And we will be warm, and bring happiness to them.

Who knows.

Love,
Loci

It’s me again!

Year 79,000,000 Day 73
Cretaceous Period

Dear Loci

Hey! These teenage pteros actually work! And don’t worry about the attitude. Just throw eggs at them! Cracks their ego. I guess my neighbours aren’t all cracks after all. Except that moron T-Rex who -

Oh! Erm. You’re right. He wasn’t dead. He fainted when he saw a cockroach. Males.

Girl, if I had free food coming to me I wouldn’t complain. The leaves are all getting dry here. And I’m so short for a Diplodocus. You velociraptors are smart. But you think too much. Stars in sky. Stars in sea. Really, some -

Oh it’s HIM! Outside! IT’S HIM! Loci I am in love! He’s this smart diplo who –

Hey it’s those fireb — no, what did you say? Meteors? Another meteor is coming! And this ones’s so huge! But why would someone throw flaming rocks at us? We’re such nice dinos. I mean apart from the egg-throwing. Erm. Do you think I should hide? This meto-thing is kinda big. Hey, a light show! Oh well. It’s just a rock. I’m gonna go watch.

Bye!
Docu

Well, I did say it ends abruptly.

--

--

Ashwini Petchiappan
The imaginist

I study biodiversity, conservation and management at University of Oxford. Birds are my reason for existence.