About The Implicate Order

Rafe Furst
The Implicate Order
1 min readJul 20, 2020

Over a dozen years ago I started a blog called Emergent Fool which was born out of a desire to explore divergent ideas about the underlying nature of reality (what physicist David Bohm calls the implicate order).

It’s an experiment which presents me with a dilemma, because I want to write as freely and authentically as I can, and when I share divergent ideas publicly I have a tendency to choke: I get overly cautious and analytical (not wanting to say something untrue; I spend more time than I’d like “getting things perfect”, wording for a broad audience to be able to understand jargon; and I spend more time than I’d like arguing for my positions with people who comment. The net result is I have struggled to really express (even to myself) what I see, sense, experience and feel about life.

I’ve decided that the way out of the dilemma for me is to pretend I am simply writing to myself (perhaps my future self) and not to worry about whether anyone else “gets it” or takes issue with or challenges the veracity of what I’m claiming.

With that said, I’d very much welcome comments, questions, feedback and challenges to my thoughts and ideas. Bohm posits that even as individuals we cannot think as clearly and make good sense of reality except as a collective. I hope you enjoy the ride.

--

--