7 Takeaways from Shoptalk

Earnest Sweat
The Importance of Reading Earnest
5 min readMar 7, 2019

--

This week I attended my second Shoptalk conference in Las Vegas. It was the fourth installment of the “show” that brings together the leaders of the retail and e-commerce industry. After last year’s event, I predicted that the conference would begin to include more presenters and participants who serve as “commerce enablers” that provide the front-end (retailers and brands) the infrastructure to execute a streamlined omnichannel consumer experience.

And I was right! (Excuse me as a take a quick victory lap). In 2018, I had to search for carefully to connect with startups focused on supply chain/logistics and Industrial IoT, however this year there was a healthy representation of B2B startups. I met with over 10 companies in 3 days at the conference and identified another 7 or so that are addressing infrastructure use cases for large retailers or d2c brands. With this shift, the conference felt a little different from last year but remained a melting pot of decision makers from various groups in the ecosystem. Below are my 7 takeaways and common themes that emerged from my conversations with startup founders, chats with investors and…

--

--