Selling to Schools Is B(to)S

What Edtech Startups Should Think About When Selling to Districts

Earnest Sweat
The Importance of Reading Earnest
5 min readMar 28, 2016

--

As an advisor to early stage edtech startups, I’m asked to provide guidance in the area of product market fit and growth strategies. The K-12 education market is one that is very complex and different from startups within the edtech industry that are looking to sell directly to students. The B2C model is a little more straightforward (although not easy, since you are launching a new product) and when startups approach me asking for advice to sell to schools or how to develop a strong B2B model, I honestly point to advice the great Afro-Canadian poet Aubrey Drake Graham once gave me.

However, this advice has rarely deterred the committed founders who are passionate about disrupting K-12 education through technology. So then I focus on helping them develop a sales strategy. First and foremost I attempt to reframe their perspective by letting them know that they are not creating a typical B2B model. Selling to schools and school districts is a whole different animal because the buyer is not the end user…

--

--