Episode 1 | Deutsch Mentor 🤖 Learn German with AI

Building sprint 🔨 — Multi-Language Integration, Personalized Onboarding, UI Enhancements, and Overcoming Challenges

Gianmarco Ebeling
The Indie Maker
3 min readOct 30, 2023

--

If you’ve been following my journey since my last post on Medium, “From €0.01 to €10,000 MRR: My Indie Maker Journey,” you know that I’ve embarked on the exciting adventure of becoming an indie maker!

The goal is clear: build a portfolio of SaaS products that can generate €10,000 in monthly recurring revenue.

The first project is Deutsch Mentor.

Deutsch Mentor is a platform where you can learn German, primarily by chatting with an AI.

When I started https://deutsch-mentor.com a few weeks ago, I had myself in mind: an Italian, who lives in Germany and knows very little German, who wants to be able to have at least daily conversations.

Building this platform, I am focused on easing the early challenges faced by German learners, with the purpose of bringing them to a conversational level for daily interactions.

I believe that achieving this basic proficiency can boost learners’ self-confidence, creating a positive momentum that stimulates quicker learning.

As I mentioned in the previous post, I adopted an agile approach, dividing my work into two-week sprints.

Screenshot of the Jira timeline

🚀 Week 1

In the first week of the development sprint for Deutsch Mentor, my main focus was on user experience. This is what I achieved:

🌐 Integrated multi-language localization, as requested in some early user feedback

https://www.deutsch-mentor.com/en

🎨 Created an onboarding flow for personalized chat experiences

https://www.deutsch-mentor.com/en/dashboard

📲 Tackled various fixes & design enhancements

📈 Week 2

Then came week 2, and let’s just say, things didn’t go exactly as planned. I got sick and I didn’t manage to achieve everything I wanted to.

But I still managed to do a lot:

📖 Created the chat history

💬 Moved from a Blocking UI to a Streaming UI

Takeaways

  1. Progress is Happening: I’ve worked hard to make Deutsch Mentor better and more user-friendly. If you’re learning German, give it a try and see the improvements!
  2. Pushing Through Challenges: Even when things got tough and I was under the weather, I didn’t stop. It’s a reminder for all of us that perseverance is key.
  3. Thankful for Your Support: To everyone reading this, thank you! Your encouragement keeps me going. If you have any feedback or ideas, please share them — this is a journey we’re on together.
  4. Excitement Ahead: I’m diving into spreading the word about Deutsch Mentor next. If you know someone learning German, tell them about us. Let’s grow our learning community!
  5. Join the Learning Journey: Deutsch Mentor is here to make German learning easy and fun. Jump in, give it a go, and let’s make learning a new language something we all enjoy!

📣 Next Up: Marketing Sprint

Alright, that’s a wrap!
These were the first two weeks of building Deutsch Mentor! 🎉

A lot has been done and I am happy about it!

Next up, I will share how the first marketing sprint went. I’m super excited, and I hope you’ll stick around to see how it went.

Don’t forget to follow me and this Medium publication The Indie Maker.

Until next time, keep hustling and stay awesome!

--

--

Gianmarco Ebeling
The Indie Maker

Founder of Deutsch Mentor. Indie Maker. Building a portfolio of SaaS to achieve financial freedom. Just ship it!