Same Same But Different

Messaging is only a UI change…for now

👋Jesse Rose
The Infatuation Team
4 min readApr 29, 2016

--

Facebook rolled out the Messenger Platform at F8 two weeks ago. This was a large focus of their keynote and will allow developers to build apps (bots) within the messenger experience.

While FB did a good job of showing how different types of partners can use the platform, they did an even better job of showing off the gimmick of messaging. Instead of finding companies that are doing interesting things in the space, FB’s launch partners showed their existing experiences just with a different UI. Because of this, people have been less than impressed. To be fair, apps like Quartz have set a bad precedent with their messaging experience.

WTF?

Let’s take a look at a few of the launch partners and their messenger bots:

Poncho: Already existing as a texting service, this was a great place to start. They’ve spent a lot of time crafting a personality and brand voice that is perfect for messaging. That said, interacting with the messaging app feels forced. The benefit of using messaging is for off the cuff, quick responses (i.e. conversation). Instead, I was forced into some flow that resembled their other apps. Before Poncho had even demonstrated it’s value (snarky weather forecasts), I was already being asked if it should message me twice a day. All I wanted was the five-day forecast.*

CNN: CNN managed to build a decent experience using some of the out-of-the-box elements that Facebook provides. Having the ability to scroll through top stories and get more information without leaving the conversation is great. You can even text in topics and they’ll try to find matching stories.

The experience starts to go down hill when, without asking, they begin to send automated messages. At no point was I asked if I wanted a daily digest of the top stories. If they had helped me with a request and then asked if I wanted them to send me each day’s top stories, I likely would have said yes. What’s more, because this is a 1-to-1 interaction, they could ask me when I want them. Instead, unless I want to get unsolicited messages from them each day, I’m forced to block them entirely.

Moving forward

At the end of the day, even bad examples are good for the ecosystem. The more brain power, money, and resources working in this space the better. So long as we keep the following in mind, we’ll have some great messaging apps to play with:

  • Why messaging? — Almost any app can be built with a messaging interface. That doesn’t mean it should be. Think carefully about why and how you’re using messaging to improve the experience.
  • Demonstrate value first — Before asking anything of the user, make a case why they should use your app. I’m messaging with you because I don’t want to download your native app and go through an onboarding flow. If you give me what I need, I’m going to want to come back and be much more receptive to provide any information you’d like.
  • Messaging is personal — Whether it’s FB Messenger or SMS, messaging is a space that was previously reserved for close friendships. Just because you have a direct channel to your users doesn’t mean that you should abuse it. Use this opportunity to build amore intimate connection with your user. It will pay off in the long run.

I’m a huge believer that “bots” and Conversational Commerce are going to change the way that we interact with many of our favorite apps. Facebook took a huge, substantial first step to help shepherd this into the mass market. Now it’s up to us to build great experiences for our users.

*To give Poncho some credit, after I went through their onboarding flow, they were able to answer my one-off questions like “5 day forecast.” Even better, asking things like “Weather tomorrow in SF” yields instantaneous results. Well done 🙏

If you have any feedback or ideas, I’d love to hear them. You can reach me at Jesse@theinfatuation.com.

--

--

👋Jesse Rose
The Infatuation Team

Head of Product @Infatuation. Formerly @BigHuman. Haunted by Rick Springfield.