From Olympics to Entrepreneurship Katya Souchitski’s Life Story Is A Must Read For Young Women

Surabhi Verma
The Influential
Published in
8 min readMay 26, 2021

Our audience loves to read stories of entrepreneurs creating a powerful change in the world. Tell us about yourself and the incredible work you do.

My name is Katya Anastazia Souchitski and I am excited to tell you a little bit about myself and why I created KAS ACTIVE. Everyone has their own journey in life. But mine all started when I quit Rhythmic Gymnastics at age 17. I reached many achievements in my career, including the title of State Championship, Junior Olympic Team member, and even participating in the Special World Olympics opening/closing ceremony. My experience as a gymnast allowed me to find my passion for fitness. The feeling of achieving a goal that seemed impossible is one that cannot be put into words. With that said, my goal as a trainer is to help others reach that indescribable feeling of accomplishment. When publishing my book, ‘No One Can Fight But Me’, which is based on my battle with Anorexia Nervosa — I hoped to make a difference and spread awareness about Eating Disorders, Mental Health Awareness, and Body Positivity. There are way too many individuals struggling with body dysmorphia, Anorexia Nervosa, Bulimia, and one of the ways to help individuals conquer and fight their battles, is to spread awareness.

My goal is to help others, give them advice and motivation so that they can conquer their battle. My bachelor’s in Molecular and Cell Biology will grant me the opportunity to become a DPT, Doctor of Physical Therapy. There is a significant amount of individuals who struggle to gain their strength back after and during the recovery of an Eating Disorder. Therefore, my future goal as a DPT is to help individuals gain their strength and educate them about the proper functioning of muscles. As a survivor of Anorexia, I had difficulties coming back to gymnastics because I lost the mobility in my joints and the strength in my muscles. I was able to not only come back to a healthy state but also tone my body with fitness training. Throughout my journey of discovering a passion for fitness, physical therapy, and mental health, I found a passion for entrepreneurship.

In May of 2020, I partnered up with MONAT, a beauty and wellness brand that builds beautiful lives. Why you might ask? Firstly, I understand the struggles of hair loss and skin issues due to an eating disorder, so finding a product that actually works in transforming an individual’s hair and skin, is very important to me. The wellness line has a variety of products that aid in a healthy digestive system, improves gut health, provides a healthy boost of energy, and a good night’s rest. Overall, MONAT has everything one needs to live a beautiful life!

So what is KAS ACTIVE? It’s a place that teaches you to build the life you deserve!

What was the inspiration behind your brand KAS ACTIVE. What is it about?

The inspiration behind my brand KAS ACTIVE comes from my life’s journey. I have many passions — fitness, physical therapy, mentoring others to become entrepreneurs with MONAT. But I have one goal that I am striving for. In the next 10 years, I want to open a wellness and spa group incorporating all my passions. This group will offer physical therapy sessions, fitness training of all types, massage therapy, and a beauty spa/hair salon with all of MONAT’s products.

You are also a popular author and your book ‘No One Can Fight But Me’ has remained a favorite pick amongst the readers. Can you tell us more about your book?

I briefly discussed my book but overall it is my story about how I got Anorexia Nervosa, a horrible eating disorder, how it affected my life through high school, and my career as a gymnast. I dedicated the last chapter of the book to those that are currently struggling with an Eating Disorder. I know how hard recovery is, so I hope my book can show others that they can fight this battle. ‘No One Can Fight But Me’ is the title for a reason. At the end of the day, the individual struggling with an eating disorder is the only person that has full control of their actions. They are the ones who will choose to fight the disorder or give up and let it control their life.

Please elaborate on your partnership with MONAT. What does it entail?

To elaborate on my partnership with MONAT, well it’s quite a simple story. The pandemic hit about a year ago and I just graduated from college. I was in a deep state of depression because there was only so much I can do from home. I could not teach fitness classes online because I did not think they were effective so as a result, I was unemployed. I had a year before I started Physical Therapy school but did not know what I would do in that year. So I hopped onto social media and my brand, KAS ACTIVE, became a self-care page where others can come to for motivational quotes, positivity, workout tips, BUT that’s it. My social media was not producing an income for me. So I discovered MONAT. At first glance, everything seemed too good to be true and honestly, I did not think I would see any success. MONAT is a luxury vegan, non-toxic, cruelty-free haircare, skincare, and wellness brand that offers you a chance to partner with them. Before I continue, I have to mention that I have been approached by several small brands prior to MONAT and I was not a fan of their partnerships. The brands I used to partner with had full control of how much they would pay me and most required a certain number of followers. This is why I gave MONAT a chance. All I had to do was get some haircare for myself which I needed anyways (I really messed up my hair in college) and additionally the brand didn’t require you to have a large following. In fact, there were no requirements at all! Overall, I didn’t want to live with that feeling of regret… that feeling that I passed on an opportunity that could have potentially changed my life.

Before I mention how this opportunity has changed my life, I have to bring up that I knew NOTHING about beauty products (I used to use bar soap as a face wash in college). So talking about beauty products on my social media was quite difficult. But thanks to the wonderful free training, I taught myself and also was mentored by million-dollar earners of the company. Here I am a year later… I am genuinely in love with this opportunity and am forever grateful I said yes. My hair went through an amazing transformation and many others that came for recommendations thanked me for introducing them to the brand. Moreover, I found a passion for becoming a mentor to others through this business. I introduced the opportunity to other college students, stay-at-home moms, social workers, bloggers, medical workers, and many others and formed a beautiful organization of empowering women. This opportunity is more than a partnership. It has allowed me to experience time freedom-make my own schedule, financial freedom-get up to 5 paychecks a month, earn incentive trips-such as my recent one in Las Vegas, use quality beauty products, and most importantly help others do the same. I am here to help you get started, so if you have any questions, please message me through the social media platforms provided below.

What are your brand expansion plans for the rest of this year?

My brand will not be expanding as much this next year. Mainly, I am focusing on getting licensed as a physical therapist and working my MONAT business. In a way, my business is expanding because I plan to take on new partners for my MONAT business. Anyone in the USA, Canada, UK, Ireland, Poland, Spain, or Lithuania can start their MONAT business with me today.

If you have to give one strong piece of advice for future entrepreneurs, what would it be?

One strong piece of advice for future entrepreneurs would be to never give up, no matter how hard things may get. Being an entrepreneur is hard but the only way to succeed is to push harder every single day. Those hard times will get to you but if you are able to push past the hard times, you will build that thick skin that will allow you to face anything. Don’t be scared to try out new opportunities even if you think you aren’t the right fit because you never know until you try. That’s the mindset I went into MONAT with. I didn’t think it would work out and I did not think I would see success but here I am one year later, nothing but successful.

Where can our readers find your work? How can they connect with you?

If you would like to connect or learn more about me or my services, my website is kasactive.com and my Instagram handle is @katya.souchitski

--

--