Marci Lundy On Empowering Lives And Success Of Beauty Line 303 Face Body

Bhavnakumar
The Influential
Published in
5 min readJun 10, 2021

Our audience loves to read stories of powerful female entrepreneurs who are creating an impactful change in the world. Please tell us about yourself and the work you do.

I’m Marci Lundy, a 70’s baby, (always super proud of that.) I begin with that because the 70’s represented pride, power, change, style, happiness, love, and peace.

Although I was born at the tail end of the 70’s, I hold such pride in being born into that era; for all that the 70’s represented, that is all within me.

I’m the founder of 303 Face Body, an organic/indie beauty line. You’ll find all things wellness beauty, from the Earth Milk Liquid Face Mask, to loose leaf tea blends.

In January 2019, I created Kindness Rocks and the City, which is the Denver, Colorado chapter of the Kindness Rocks Project. The motto of this kindness rock painting creation is to pay it forward, in love.

In October 2020, I created the Kult of Kindness Podcast. It was largely inspired by my Kindness Rocks and the City creation. My podcasting equipment sat for 2 years, collecting dust, as I tried to think of a podcast idea that I could pour my heart and soul into, helping it to hold depth while joining a saturated market. Kult of Kindness came to me, and the rest is beautiful history.

In January 2021, I became certified in Chinese medicine, (DOM.) Having an organic skincare line for nearly 10 years now, plant-based medicine and wellness have become a large part of my brand, as well as my life. Becoming certified was the natural next step for me; one of the hardest exams that I’ve ever taken, but oh am I ever proud of this milestone!

As a multi-passionate entrepreneur, what comprises your everyday routine? How do you manage various aspects of your work?

My day-to-day schedule is kind of bananas, but it is controlled chaos if you will.

My husband, (a quadriplegic) and I live in a loft in the heart of the city, and his schedule is just as busy as my own, being on numerous boards and having a production company.

We try to plan meetings and Zoom calls around one another’s schedules. I use our loft as a photography studio, (for product photography and video shoots related to my brands.) Our loft/workspace is filled with plants; succulents, orchids, lots of art, and candles. This helps to keep the work/life balance vibe beautifully.

When we’re done for the (work) day, space comfortably transitions to artsy-fartsy city life living, and we’re on to relaxing, listening to music, and enjoying our downtime.

What sort of topics do you often talk about when it comes to recording episodes for your podcast ‘Kult of Kindness Podcast’?

The Kult of Kindness is a mental health/wellness podcast, so all of the topics presented are to help individuals get to kindness.

Each month, I select a book of the month that all listeners are encouraged to read, (think Masterclass style.)

Every Tuesday, I discuss various topics from the current book, touching on a number of my personal experiences on this kindness journey.

I feel that it’s important that the listeners know that I am both an empath, and also on my kindness journey. My husband joins the conversation at the end of each month, as well as other important guests that are a part of the mindfulness community, and can add to the ongoing conversation of kindness, mental health, and self-care.

When it comes to entrepreneurship, women especially go through a wide spectrum of challenges in order to give birth to their creative visions. Were there any such challenges for you? If yes, how did you overcome them?

In all honesty, my only challenge has truly been having too many business ideas. My mind is constantly thinking of a way that I can add something positive and helpful to our world.

I’m a one-woman show with one goal:

Be a part of the solution, not the problem.

As a woman, a black woman, I have always felt extremely empowered.

I’ve never felt like an underdog.

That has quite a bit to do with how I was raised. My parents are both very positive and successful, and through growing up in a positive and loving environment, I naturally possessed an ongoing feeling of:

1.) I belong.

2.) What I have to add to the world is important.

… and

3.) I am loved.

This combination created a black woman that lives and loves and contributes with a heart that’s pure and positive; and I know that is one of the main reasons that I am here, to pay it forward, in love.

We would love to know about your future visions especially for the rest of 2021. Are there any upcoming creative projects in the scheme of things?

I’m quite excited about growing my Amazon Prime audience, (via 303 Face Body) as well as growing the Kindness Rocks and the City Cares Project to include providing help for children who do not have sufficient supplies (computers, tablets) to help aid in a successful educational experience, by doing Kindness Rocks and the City Rock and Paint courses (a variation of sip and paint.)

I’m also working on an ongoing program of donating gently used clothing and interior decoration items for women and families getting back on their feet, this will be through Kindness Rocks and the City. It will be named the Langston & Dorothy Foundation, after my parents, because they were the ones who created this beautiful foundation for me to go forward in the world with.

As we wind up this interview, we would love to have some nuggets of wisdom from you for our women readers out there. What advice/ suggestions do you have for women with big entrepreneurial dreams?

GO FOR IT!

If you have a creative vision or something that you’re passionate about, make sure that you’ve mapped out a way to make this happen. The creative vision is important, and so is the game plan. If you have a wonderful support system, that is also very helpful.

Google is your friend.

Once you’ve created a game plan, start finding resources and ways that will help make your dream become a reality.

Lastly, my favorite quote is, “Never try, never know.”

I’m always going to try because I don’t ever want to sit around thinking to myself, “what if,” or, “I wonder what life would have been like if I had…”

Seriously, go for it. You’ll be so glad that you did.

--

--

Bhavnakumar
The Influential

BHAVNA KUMAR is a copy editor at ‘The Inception Media’. A writer by day and a reader by night. She is also an early adopter who loves trying out new things...