I Wish I Had Known…

Harry Warner
The Information
Published in
1 min readDec 7, 2015

In life there are a lot of things that people take for granted, whether it’s the roof over your head or the packed lunch mom would make for you before you went to school. Out of all the tings in life that I have taken for granted, the last one I thought I would ever be talking about is the library. I saw the library simply as a place I could go to get books if I needed, or possibly as a quiet place to do work if I didn’t mind walking over there.

As I have gotten older, I’ve learned how little I actually knew about libraries and the benefits of them. Libraries aren’t just a place to work or borrow books. Libraries have access to an incredible amount of scholarly journals and articles. Libraries are some of the only places that can afford the membership costs of these information providers, and these sources contain some of the best and most accurate knowledge that can’t always be found on your everyday google search.

Another thing I didn’t realize about libraries, is that librarians are experts and are excellent resources for anyone that needs to find and cite sources. These librarians are here to educate and assist people that strive to learn more, and I wish that I had known and had taken advantage of this earlier in my life.

--

--