Mary Katherine Lupo
The Information
Published in
1 min readMay 11, 2016

--

I wish I had known that libraries originally served as locations to store community information. I think it is really cool that libraries stored information and resources accessible to community members. Amazon and Google don’t have past community records and legal documents available for research.

The thing that most surprises me regarding libraries in the age of Google and Amazon is their ability to store information and stay relevant in the digital age. I think that despite the availability of eBooks and various digital copies of previously written information, there is something to be said about the pages of a hardback or paperback book.

Another thing that I love about libraries are is how they are available to the community free of charge. I used to always go to the library with my mom during my childhood and you can see all type of people in the library. It is a real community atmosphere. Homeless people seek the library for computers and to relax and enjoy reading. Book clubs of elderly folk meet weekly and discuss various books. To see libraries go would be a huge upset to our community. Despite the notion of municipal funds going elsewhere, I think it important to maintain the library as a community structure.

--

--