Pro Humanitate and the Search for Its Meaning on Wikipedia

Max Telles
The Information
Published in
2 min readJul 13, 2015

I believe that the world of who writes actual Wikipedia articles is a highly obscure one. Given that I am a very curious person about the most varied subjects I am often relying on Wikipedia to inform me on quick facts. This can range from how pigs find truffles to settling a bet on how much of the GDP does Greece percentage-wise. As far as I know, the information is valid as I will need someone with expansive knowledge of the subject to correct a Wikipedia article. However, for academic situations such as Wake Forest, I often rely on Wikipedia for similar situations where quick facts are helpful to build an idea rather than support it. For the actual foundations of a paper, thesis, etc. I try to rely on the experience of my professors as this is their expertise as well as textbooks among other scholarly mediums. Nevertheless, if I were to have my papers as a basis for Wikipedia I would probably find myself doubting the validity of what I am proclaiming to my Professors more fervently. Yet again, I believe I must point out the fact that despite the fearfulness built in to students by professors on the merits and faults of Wikipedia, whenever I search for highly complex articles on advanced topics such as quantum mechanics it appears that it is correct to me do to the complexity (A complexity that I once more renders me unable to verify the facts). With this in mind, I think I can honestly say that even though it is one of the most relied upon sites for information, Wikipedia suffers a well warranted deficit of trust on the part of its readers. In terms of utilizing the vast amount of knowledge that is coffered and polished at Wake to better the articles online that are available to people who do not have access to the same information that Wake students possess is almost a moral imperative.

--

--