Breakfast Bites: What’s Your Go-To?

nicole
The Ingredients
Published in
3 min readOct 13, 2016

I say it all the time; breakfast is the most important meal of the day. In fact, the majority of my calories are consumed in the morning. Maybe it’s because my days are so crazy and I need to feel fueled and energized for the day, or maybe it’s because I’ve loved pancakes and breakfast pastries ever since I was a child!

So what, you ask, is necessary for a complete, filling breakfast? Protein. Whether you have a protein shake, a trail mix of assorted nuts, peanut butter or almond butter on a banana (my daily go-to), or a hearty avocado toast, it is super important to incorporate protein into your morning routine. According to Livestrong, “protein-rich foods take longer to leave the stomach, so they keep you full longer than other foods. Protein also keeps blood-sugar levels steady.”

My favorite Breakfast recipe:

Banana Pancakes! All it takes is one banana and two eggs. Mash your banana in a bowl and add two eggs. Whisk it all together until your ingredients are combined and smooth. Pour your batter on a skillet; this recipe should make 7–8 small pancakes! Cook each side for about 1 minute, and just like that you have a hearty stack of banana pancakes!!

My favorite Breakfast spots:

When in NYC…

Butcher’s Daughter- This café emerged on the NoLiTa dining scene a few years back, and has been the talk of the city ever since. Like all Aussie cafes, Butcher’s has some pretty awesome (gluten-free) avocado toast. The restaurant is also vegan (minus eggs!) and the Adzuki bean bacon is pretty awesome, as are the eggs benedict on a GF English Muffin.

Avocado Toast at Butcher’s Daughter

Bluestone Lane- Clearly the Aussies know how to do it! With gluten-free bread for their famous avocado toasts, you have plenty of options to choose from here. The GF banana bread is my personal favorite. Topped with pecans, this banana bread is definitely one of the best I’ve ever experienced. Bluestone is also one of the most popular destinations in NYC for coffee, and although I’m not the biggest coffee drinker, I’m known to hold my meetings here…I just opt for tea!

Avocado Toast at Bluestone Lane

When in LA…

Backyard Bowls- As stated on their menu, everything can be made gluten-free upon request! Which is basically my dream. All of the delicious smoothies are packed with good-for-you ingredients such as hemp milk, ginger, and cacao nibs. Most importantly, Backyard is known for their to-die-for smoothie bowls that are GF as long as you request the house made, GF granola. Backyard is the perfect spot for your next breakfast date!

Gluten Free Acai Bowl at Backyard Bowls

Café Gratitude- The vegan eatery that has you thinking, “wow, this is vegan??” The buckwheat pancakes topped with fruit and maple syrup is pretty incredible and you have to order the breakfast tacos!! Each CG location asks a daily question that has you digging deep into your soul, and with food that makes your mind, body, and soul feel nourished, Café Gratitude is a must try for all in the LA area!

Gluten-Free Buckwheat Pancakes at Cafe Gratitude

--

--