What happens when you choose to mix things up for a week

KIND
The Ingredients
Published in
7 min readApr 21, 2016

Words and photos by Roxie Baker

“Not that again,” my mother practically wailed the other week. I had gone to her house over the weekend to make dinner and suggested I make the same turkey chili I have made time and time again. I realized then and there that while it’s good to have some recipes and habits on standby, that variety is nice for both you and apparently your mother.

Honestly, I have found myself getting bored with my routine lately. I’ve been absolutely dreading lacing up my sneakers for a run, or going to the same pilates class I’ve been attending for years, and my healthy go-to recipes I liked when I first started to live healthier are now rote. I find my internal three year old challenging me in the grocery store and at the dinner table — “you can’t make me!”

Because I’m in a bit of rut, I’ve been looking for variety and have been researching blogs with predictable articles about “going paleo!, going fully raw!, juicing!” and I am now writing my own blog: “The Best Salt Water Flush! Drink Your Own Tears!” Alright, not actually. While I am so grateful for having made the lifestyle changes that I have (my skin cleared up, I have more energy, I sleep like a baby, other amazing things), my routine as it stands could use a little revamp. That’s why for the next five days I’m attempting to make “swaps” for what I normally do for meals, workouts, and habits.

Day I: Green Smoothies– A Necessary Evil?

My significant other suggested that I drink “those nasty green drinks” when I told him I would be channeling my internal Gwyneth. Make no mistake, the green smoothie and I are not strangers. Once upon a time, they were a staple in my morning routine but I burned out on the same flavors of frozen banana and frozen berries. I went into this week with a gameplan: not only would I reignite my love for the holy grail of balanced breakfasts, but I would make my SO a convert.

I decided that I would keep the staples of the smoothie the same but try new flavor profiles. My S.O. eloquently reported that he likes “tropical flavors; I don’t know, like mango and stuff.” Behold: a green smoothie which packs protein from hemp seeds, a probiotic punch of kefir (not as scary as it sounds), and the vitamin and mineral powerhouse of greens. The avocado is a nice addition as well since it makes the result creamier and those monounsaturated fats (the “healthy” fats) help with satiety for all us hungry humans. Also, it’s avocado, what is wrong with you? Not only did this taste sort of like being on a vacation that I can’t afford, but my S.O. actually requested this smoothie the very next morning, which, really, is nothing short of a miracle.

Actually Good* Green Smoothie
(Serves 2)
1 frozen banana (peeled and cut into coins, frozen)
2 handfuls spinach (or kale, collard greens, whatever’s on hand)
¼ avocado (or ½ if you’re really living)
½ cup plain kefir (I use Trader Joe’s brand)
½ cup of fresh or frozen mango
Water, or milk to blend (I used unsweetened coconut milk)
2 Tbs of hemp hearts as “garnish” if you want to get fancy (optional)
1 scoop vanilla protein powder (optional)

Actually Good* Green Smoothie

Day II: Dance Like, Hopefully, No One Is Watching

I convinced myself that if I walked around the block once that that was workout enough for me. Self-deception is a tricky beast. I willfully did not pack my workout gear in the morning and when I arrived back home at the end of the day, I did not “feel like” putting on my sneakers. I had long seen the fitness advice to “just dance around your home to your favorite songs,” and immediately discounted it. Not I, the sophisticate, I thought to myself as I Googled “One Direction gifs.”

I stumbled upon a video of a man dancing to Rihanna’s Work, which of course inspired me to try this oft-referenced fit tip. I set a timer for 5 minutes, incorporating Tracy Anderson-esque moves into my dancing: lots of jumping, some sashaying, and bursts of unspeakable jostling around which I’m not sure counts strictly as “dancing.”

After canceling my timer and continuing on for about 20–25 minutes I was drenched in sweat and I actually felt more energized and in better spirits than I had felt prior to prancersizing. And just to back up my claims, the American College of Sports Medicine cites that the “type of calorie-burning, mind-stimulating play that children often do shouldn’t be left behind as people age…dancing can burn up to 322 calories an hour for a 150-pound person.” Basically, it may not feel like a tough workout, but you’re actually doing great things for your body and mind alike. That’s a win/win, no?

No photos or video included for posterity.

Day III. Beet Those Cravings

An actress friend recently told me over lunch that she beat her sugar cravings by eating root vegetables in the late afternoon. I felt like laughing or slapping her, and ordered a brownie to go. Sugar is my caffeine, my mid-afternoon pick me up, my end of day ritual, and my reward. In the spirit of trying something new that I might think is ridiculous, I made an enormous beet salad for an early dinner. I roasted the beets with course salt, olive oil, and cracked pepper and threw in some arugula, walnuts, goat cheese. I tossed it with my favorite lazy girl vinaigrette: drizzle of honey, 1 part lemon juice, 2 parts olive oil, and about ½ tsp of Dijon mustard to emulsify.

Aside from the fact that my hands look like they belong in a true crime documentary, I did actually crave sugar less after dinner. Instead of having chocolate or ice cream, I had a cup of herbal tea with honey and didn’t feel like I needed anything more. I satisfied my craving for sweet and felt satiated after the meal- thanks to the slow-digesting nature of carbohydrates like beets and other root vegetables. Also, beets are kickass! The American Journal of Clinical Nutrition notes that beitane found in duh, beets, “protects internal organs, improves vascular risk factors, and enhances performance…[and] is an important nutrient for the prevention of chronic disease.” Jury is still out on whether or not this will continue to work for me but it’s worth a try for fellow sugar fiends.

Day IV. When You Dip, I Dip, We Dip

I’m not sure about you but three daintily-portioned out meals per day just doesn’t cut it for me — I’ve tried. Good news for grazers! Registered dietitian, Keri Gans tells us that most adults will need to eat at least every three to five hours to control hunger and function optimally all day.

I had some extra time on my hands this afternoon and have wanted to make a dip to keep in the refrigerator as an easy snack. Although plenty of brands make fairly decent hummus, I wanted to experience the popularly-cited rapture of a homemade variety. I also wanted to experience the rapture of making something stupid-easy only to enjoy it on the couch minutes later.

I referenced a few recipes online as a general guideline on proportions and created and enjoyed this hummus within 20 minutes. I ate with toasted whole wheat pita, raw red bell pepper, and some olives.

Seriously, you don’t need to buy this stuff.

Hummus
1 15 oz. can chickpeas (rinsed; some recipes will call for them skinned — nobody has time for that)
¼ cup fresh lemon juice
¼ cup tahini (store-bought is fine)
½ garlic clove
2 Tbs of Extra Virgin Olive Oil plus more to drizzle on top
½ tsp of salt (adjust to taste)
2–3 basil leaves
½ tsp ground cumin
3 Tbs of water to blend
Paprika to top

Directions: Place rinsed chickpeas in food processor and process until they become a thick, paste-like consistency. Add all other ingredients in, slowly drizzling in the olive oil as they process. Let the hummus sit for 5 minutes before sprinkling with paprika and a bit more olive oil or lemon juice. Devour.

Day V: The Best Swap I Made

When I told my mother about my foray into health and wellness years ago, she told me that I could also use a healthier “attitude.” I met her with my typical grumbling, a classic response from someone who could use a better attitude. Her advice to me was that it took just as much energy to go out of your way to be kind to a stranger than to ignore them or worse, subtly throw shade with sarcasm, self-centered behavior, or a cold demeanor.

I took the challenge on my last day to be conscious of the way I came off to those around me. I also made an effort to pay both strangers and acquaintances compliments if I meant them. I told the lady who checks me out at my grocery store that I loved her red hair, and my pharmacist that she had beautiful handwriting. I’m not typically the type to go out of my way to talk to strangers and I actually thought I might be met with some defensiveness or “get away from me you weirdo” looks, but I was overwhelmingly treated with warmth and appreciation. Most people don’t receive enough positive affirmation, and more than a few of us are our own harshest critics. It’s pretty darn cool that the easiest tricks, the ones which cost you almost nothing, are also some of the most impactful.

Hey, like what you just read? Do the kind thing and hit recommend.

If you want more stories to love, head over to Medium & kindsnacks.com.

And, if you really want to take it to the next level, follow us on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram.

--

--

KIND
The Ingredients

Hi, we’re KIND (you may be familiar with our KIND bars)! We make tasty and healthy snacks using ingredients you can see and pronounce. http://kinded.com/1ros8hC