Alliteration Begins with A

Alex Bentley
The Inkslinger
Published in
4 min readNov 20, 2017

--

Example of alliteration in Edgar Allan Poe’s The Raven poem.

Hey there! Alexander here. I love using alliteration in my poems, prose & other writings. For those that are unfamiliar with alliteration, it is defined as:

“Alliteration is […] a stylistic literary device which is identified by the repeated sound of the first or second letter in a series of words, or the repetition of the same letter sounds in stressed syllables of a phrase.”
(Source: Wikipedia)

Here is a new epigram I posted to my Instagram grid, which garnered 40 comments & over 1.1k likes in its first 24 hours.

As you can see in the image, the quote reads:

“At the cemetery, amongst the dead, is where I finally feel at peace.”

I intentionally employ alliteration in this short saying, but not in the classical way you would typically see. The conventional approach is to repeat words with the same first letter. For example, “The big brown bear…rolls on the ground.” The three B’s are the alliterated style in action.

--

--

Alex Bentley
The Inkslinger

I write about crypto, personal finance, business & tech. Also, I publish a bit of humor to make you laugh.