Fiction

Something Wicked

Read at your own risk

Matthew Donnellon
The Inkwell
Published in
6 min readMay 23, 2024

--

“Michael. You know you’re not supposed to be doing things like this.”

I held the paper in my hand pointing to the top. He had written, “I am the sign of the beast” where his name should have been. And, he wrote 666 where all of the answers should have gone. It was a little strange, but most kids did something inappropriate with an assignment at some point. I don’t know how many phallic symbols I’ve seen on little boy’s papers through the years.

“What do you mean?”

“Why did you write this? Why was your name not on the paper?”

“I did write my name.”

“No, you wrote this.” I pointed to the satanic marking on the paper.

“I didn’t write that.”

“Michael, you’re not supposed to lie. This is your paper.”

“What’s the beast?”

His face looked so innocent. Very few kids were good liars. He looked completely mystified. I nearly doubted that he wrote the words. If I hadn’t watched him hand in his paper, I would have believed him.

“That’s not important right now. I just need you to know you shouldn’t be writing that.”

“What’s 666?”

--

--

Matthew Donnellon
The Inkwell

Matthew Donnellon is a writer, artist, and sit down comedian. He is the author of The Curious Case of Emma Lee and Other Stories.