Fiction

The Cabin at Night

Strange things happen in the woods

Matthew Donnellon
The Inkwell
Published in
7 min readMay 20, 2024

--

The gravel crunched under the tires of the old car as we pulled into the driveway.

“I can’t believe they’re letting us use the cabin,” Michael said as the head beams illuminated the forest around the old building.

“I know I couldn’t believe it when you said we could come,” Jess said.

We got out of the car for the first time in hours.

“I’m so excited,” Jess said.

“Why? You’ve been to the cabin before,” I said.

“I know but never by ourselves,” she said, “and you know…”

Right, she was a Halloween nut. And it was a week away.

To make it even better, the forest was doing its best to add to the ambiance. The ground was strewn with leaves, fog rolled in over the ridge, and there was a slight chill in the air.

“Um, what is that?” Michael asked.

I clicked my flashlight to see what it was.

“Oh jeez,” he said once my light revealed it was a scarecrow.

“Afraid of decorations now?’ Jess asked.

“I mean it’s dark. I thought it was someone sneaking up on us.”

--

--

Matthew Donnellon
The Inkwell

Matthew Donnellon is a writer, artist, and sit down comedian. He is the author of The Curious Case of Emma Lee and Other Stories.