The Corpse Light (Victorian Ghost Story)

Chris J Mitchell
The Inner Citadel
22 min readApr 22, 2019

--

M. R. James is one of my favourite writers when it comes to ghost stories. His stories, Count Magnus, The Treasure of Abbot Thomas and Oh whistler and I’ll come are amongst some of my favourites.

But, if you ask me what other Victorian ghost stories I like then this is one that springs to mind, and I would also add its one of my favourites. There is nothing particularly original about it, but it gives you everything you want from a classic ghost story. A remote country location, stormy weather, an old windmill, a trail through the fields at night time. What else can you ask for?

It was written by Dick Donovan (whose real name was J. E. Preston Muddock) (Born in England in 1843 and passed away in 1934). He was journalist and a prolific writer of mystery and horror stories.

This story was written in 1899 and is now in the public domain. I do hope you enjoy reading it below!

The Corpse Light

Written by Dick Donovan

My name is John Patmore Lindsay. By profession I am a medical man, and a Fellow of the Royal College of Surgeons, and Member of the Royal College of Physicians, London. I am also the author of numerous medical works, the best known, perhaps, being ‘How to Keep in Good Health and Live Long.’ I was educated at one of…

--

--

Chris J Mitchell
The Inner Citadel

Crafting stories, writing tales, and aiming to set scenes tingling with wonder. Read | Write | Review | Rest www.motionforgepictures.com