And ooof, writing is my worst nightmare, which means I’ll have to do it!

YES YOU WILL / JFDI

𝑚𝑖𝑙𝑙𝑠𝑧.ustwo/FAMPANY®
#TheRoadTo100
Published in
3 min readJul 11, 2018

--

Actually, that isn’t my worst nightmare, I like writing, albeit in my somewhat disjointed visual vernacular. That title is a quote from a conversion I had with an actual human yesterday which made me think.

Worst nightmares, fears, worries… all things which I’ve actually come to realise, are actually the very things we should be excited about being aware of!

I’m actually fearful of donuts because they are so unhealthy. I won’t go there.

Why should you be excited? Because they are signposting the direction you need to head. The issue with fear is that we misunderstand it. Fear is often misinterpreted as a stop sign, an excuse we feel good (anxiously so) in having so we don’t have to push into the uncomfortable.

I would love to be known for creating engaging, useful, inspiring content where I’m often (if not always) at the centre of the story. I feel I have something to say, new perspectives, only issue is I rarely have anything to say… or so I thought…

It’s something I’ve always harboured a desire for, but have always stopped doing it because I was ‘fearful’ of getting a camera out and filming (what would people who don’t know me think!). I was ‘fearful’ of the effort needed to edit (can’t be arsed), to upload it to one of the multiple (super easy to use) platforms.

Fearful of the reaction (or likely ‘no reaction’) to whatever I made ~ heaven forbid someone might actually watch it!

I am not sure exactly how I thought my dream would come true without actually facing the fear and just doing it. I’m a total joke.

So, I just started. I made something, it’s not much. It’s not anything really. It’s a step forward. It’s the shattering of the bullet proof glass that I had in front of me that I was hiding behind.

What I am saying is this. If you’re lucky enough to have fears and nightmares why not try tackling them head on. What’s the worst that could happen. I guess it’s that you might actually like the very thing you were fearful of.

mills@ustwo.com

I’ve also just recorded this (strangely as a consequence of facing my fears I feel super vulnerable so thought I’d talk about why I think that is)

--

--