I’m collecting wood.

Although I’m literally speaking not.

--

Last night sinx and I had the pleasure (and I say pleasure as these days my time with my best mate and partner is limited to sticking our middle fingers up at each other as we (or should I say he as he’s the CEO) runs between meetings)) of speaking via an hour long Q&A on stage at an incredible event called Gab in glasgow. It was a wonderful experience and as I sat back listening to sinx answer any curious question that needed intelligent answering I thought to myself – “wow, my partner is pretty damn special” –

Anyway – the above has almost nothing to do with what I interned to write, but these days I let my mind flow like the finest wine (except as you know I don’t drink so I spit it out – voila… dis post!)

At the end of the talk I ended up having a fascinating conversation about wood with a fascinating character. As you do.

Like most of my boring banter the conversation had moved beyond the discussion around Monument Valley, beyond the feedback on the game he was making (it looked brilliant) and we talked more about the awakening of self – I think that’s what it was - Basically about why Run, why get fit etc.

He told me how he had lost his mojo when it came to cycling but had rediscovered the love once he applied a mission to it. This particular mission was in collecting wood. He told me how Glasgow has lots of wood scattered all over and when he sees it, any of it… he has to note it down and go back later with his bike and his trailer and pick it up. We’re talking big wood, Not twigs. – it’s worth noting he had installed an amazing old school wood burner so although he has the biggest stock pile of wood I’d ever seen he had a use. In short what I understood was.. — he had a mission, a purpose applied to his fitness.

my wood.

When I woke early am, sun not up yet - I wondered what my wood was. As a youngster, as a nowster! Id always been fascinated by football stadiums. I don’t care about the football (I do care about football socks on legs, not pulled up I might say) but I love the imposing nature of these stadiums and when you add that to a sunrise my gosh you have secretion. Issue being I never ever go to them. Idiot. Remember… one life.

For those who don’t know – and as a child I supported Glasgow Rangers for 2 years while they were considered true greats (I am a glory hunter) there are two teams here. Celtic and Rangers…

Plotting the run it was a simple 13.2! Miles run over to Celtic Park and then back to Ibrox. There was my wood. For anyone not feeling inspired, or not able to find a reason to get off your arse… think hard about what your wood mission could be. It makes a difference.

this was a fun run. Zero shits given about pace. This was about wood.

I now intend to run to every single stadium (ish)

As always mail me if you like communication mills@ustwo.com

--

--