Looking back, looking forward (and up!)

12 tips for me so that I survive the UTMR 100k mountain ultra.

Road running and fell running are completely different sports. There is literally no comparison. Turns out there is minimal running in mountain ultra trail runs. That was the consensus from a discussion I had last night with a team of runners who will be taking on the UTMR with me on 7th September. (Note to self: that’s 52 days of training left)

… it is a serious challenge – brutal, beautiful and brilliant – and in stages, it’s a lot of fun. Come and try it! – Lizzy Hawker, Race Director, UTMR.

The cutoff for the 100km UTMR on 7th September is 28 hours. What the fuck am I doing.

Ultra running takes the mind and soul into the strangest and darkest places. I wanted to make sure I wrote down as much as I can remember from my 8th July 55k Lakeland trails ultra that I completed 1 day before turning 40 while it’s still just about rememberal.

Hard (the race that is)

Fuck me I’m pumped! Pumped on coffee as I sit in an armchair (the beauty of AirBNB’s are that you sample furniture you otherwise wouldn’t taste) looking out across the Lake District surmising about the weekend.

As I said above, this weekend I finished my first 55k mountain (micro mountains really) ultra marathon which was undoubtably the hardest thing I’ve ever done. I’ve run many long distances but nothing like this.

Up and down up and down.

I was 100% certain it would be my last.

That’s what I told myself while deep into the ultra and even deeper into the dark mental abyss of despair that had reared its destructive self.

The only thing keeping me going was the happiness (although daunting) of telling the UTMR crew that I would not be taking on the September challenge, as it was clear to me that my running (or hiking! Days were over).

It was too much for me to actually believe I could take on 100k in the Swiss alps (I still haven’t bothered to look up if they are the alps), I knew it was too much because I was struggling hard with the madness of the 55k and I was miserable. The thought of double as much and more incline and decline was making me feel physically sick.

(note to self, as that nonsense comes out of my mind onto this page I think it’s clear to me that people who write about their endeavours often ratchet up the drama – it was definitely something that crossed my mind but I actually knew that you should never make decisions while on an actual run, and I also never felt physically sick at the thought, just a wee bit shit scared and very tired)

Ok it’s 6:30am and the chances of Lis (my wife) or kids waking is higher so I need to actually write down the advice!, I like to get up super early so I can write things like this while sipping break Fluid coffee.

I’ve got 55 days left of training assuming I’m able to move my body tomorrow (2 full days after the race) and I need to really really go hammer time.

This is what I learnt about myself and what I think I need to do and be aware of over be next weeks.

  1. Strength – here lies the key. You need to be strong. I need to have 4 weeks starting this weekend of intensive hiit style training (I’m actually going to be doing at least 3 sessions a week of Skulpt training – a style of yoga – as my base strength as it’s one of the most intense things I’ve ever done). I need to beast myself. Road running is all about lean and grace, but ultra fell runnning (mountain style) is all about power and strength. You’re never really moving that fast from what I could work out but it’s non stop and you’re essentially climbing. It’s all about strength. I need to create a program with my trainer where by I am doing major bursts of strength. Luckily for me I had been going to yoga almost every day as I wanted to build up core base strength, it served me well and I think it was this that basically got me through it.
  2. Pace change – there was not a moment when I was able to get into any real rhythm. The undulation, the obstacles, the extreme up or down meant it felt more like an obstacle course than a Run. I think this is why it was so hard. I had mentally prepare for a run but it definitely wasn’t that. I’d imagine anyone who does cross fit would actually be pretty well accustomed to these types of runs.
  3. Hill training – for some strange reason I hadn’t thought that I had needed to train on actual hills (choosing basically to Run on flat roads!) – I’ve been truly humbled by this weekend and I now have a deep respect for the mountains and how hard they are to get up and over. I am going to be training on some extreme hills – luckily for me (or is that unlucky! I have a week down in Bantham (west England) and right next to me is a hill which is almost vertical in nature. I’ll be taking it on ever morning. The down part of the training is as important as the up. I actually think running (or forcing yourself to not run down because of the vert) is harder than going up hill. I am also going to make sure I climb up and down anything I can over the next month – parkour style! I have to get used to my body being uncomfortable.
  4. Respect the ankles. There was almost no time where I was able to stop looking down because the undulation was so extreme. I really learnt to appreciate the incredible design of the ankle as I spent nearly 9 hours testing its durability. I’m gonna look into whether there are strength training for ankles because I think I’ll need it.
  5. Fuel is especially essential (no shit), and I actually feel that because of the slower speed of the mountain runs (walks) I was able to eat consistently and always make sure I had calories in my body on average every 45 mins. Assuming we are out for at least 24 hours that means a lot of tribe bars!
  6. Injury prevention is key, and making sure I don’t get injured on the course is going to be very important. I fell 3 times on the 55k, almost breaking my arm on the third. Because of the nature of the trails you’re constantly in danger of hitting a rock (especially true the later you get into the race due to exhaustion and especially true (I’m guessing) with UTMR as half of the race is through the night!
  7. Night training! – fuck. I’ve done none and never tested myself with sleep deprivation. This is going to be incredibly hard as although I’ve done a 100k (basically flat) before I’ve never done it in mountains or without sleep. This part is super worrying and daunting to me. Just gonna have to deal!
  8. Just keep going. As with all running advice, the only real advice worthy of listening to (because it’s right) is to keep going. As long as you put one foot ahead of the last you will get to the end – even if it takes 28 hours!
  9. Pack mentality – this is critical. I’ll be taking on UTMR with 7 total legends. We’ll all have each other’s backs and will stick together (I actually need to double check this part as I know I am the least fit of all of them). All my races to now have been basically solo as I like to Run alone, however the problem with running on your own is it’s easier to slow down. Pack running in the mountains is going to be critical. Spirits stay strong in the pack. Together as Juan.
  10. Shoes! – ouch! I’ve finally (and proudly) got my first black toe nails. Except I realise now why you get them. You get them if your shoes are too small!. It’s essential IMO that you get shoes that are slightly bigger than shoes you’d wear on the road. The sheer amount of down hills where you’re forcibly slowing yourself down (this toes get rammed into the front) means you have to have room down there. – also make sure your shoes are designed for mountain ultra running – my new Nike Trail Zoom Wildhorse 4 runners survived well although the front of them came apart due to me kicking so many rocks. I’m gonna move to Hoka One One Speed Goat 2
  11. Knees – OUCH! I literally if not actually felt like my knees where going to break. The amount of force I was placing on them on the Down and up hills was like nothing I’d done before. I need to work out how I can strengthen them even more.
  12. Kit – my Lakeland Trail 55k was very very hard, but the weather was amazing (perhaps too hot). With UTMR we will be running (walking) at times on ice and snow so we need to use crampons in our feet which I’ve never used or carried before. Same goes for poles which I’ve never used before. Wow, as I write this I feel nervous. This really is going to be insane.
So hids but so fresh

I’m very excited but terrified by what awaits me. I know it’s going to be a magnitude of horrible more extreme than what I’ve just completed. But I’m also now very much aware of what I need to do to prepare for it. I’ve got 55 days to get myself into even better shape and I’m ready for this new challenge. The pay off will be more learning and a happiness and pride I’ve never experienced on that level of bongo. That’s what I crave.

Ok that’s enough of me writing. If you want to know more, or just Talky about running then please reach out (it’s not weird to do so!) at mills@ustwo.com

--

--