Marathon Dreadmills

4.5 Hours of pure Moooooooonooooooooootooooony

--

Iโ€™m on my ultra journey to take on a 100 mile Ultra race in October 2018 as well as unlock my own mental health. In August of 2017 I stopped alcohol for good, turned vegetarian, transformed my nutrition intake and decided over night to become an ultra runner. This is my journey. contact me mills@ustwo.com

Yesterday I ran on a treadmill four(pun intended) the duration of a slow marathon โ€“ 4.5 hours. Why? Simply to get time on my feet (remember my 100 mile ultra will likely take me the best part of 20 hours) โ€“ it was a chance to test out nutrition.

Sam set me the following:

Start slow itโ€™s not about distance, just the feeling of moving constantly.

50mins at between 9โ€“10kph

10 walking at 6kph (this is your hypothetical aid station so its here you fuel up with your nutrition)

X4 + 30 mins 10kph

Drink at least 750โ€“1l an hour (sipping)

This is an ultra race prep run out you, making mistakes and finding out what to do and what not to do is what this is forโ€ฆ. Start easy easy. Good luck mate ๐Ÿ’ช๐Ÿผ

Why explain in words when a video I made Can say it in actual reelz.

Things I learnt

  1. I need change of clothes at 26miles โ€“ soaked!

2. Peanuts make me gas!! And make me feel a bit hids but the salt was amazing and helped my hydration.

3. Eating every hour almost was too much but at same time went well as I never ran out of energy.

4. I consumed 4 backpacks of water

5. I did it!

And if you wanna take it on then here is a Little JFDI Cast : How to Run a Marathon on a Treadmill.

As always Iโ€™d love to hear from you at mills@ustwo.com

--

--