The inevitable ‘ache over’

Wakey wakey ache ache rise and shine

--

I’ve never looked back since ditching alcohol. It’s actually crazy to think how intwined it is in the ‘normal’ British way of life.Only this weekend I was asked (knowing I didn’t drink) wether I would at least have one glass of wine on christmas because… well because it’s christmas.

For some people when you tell them you no longer want to drink it doesn’t sink in. Because of this I think it’s taken me at least 4 months to properly compute that it’s actually not odd to not drink. It has been so drilled into me over the years (namely by myself) that drinking alcohol is a key tenant of life.

Not drinking is so liberating, and I don’t mean for 1 week. I mean removing it from your life for good. My eyes have been opened to so much freshness. Anyway, nuff said.. I am sure you get it.. I love not drinking. I might buy a t-shirt.. except I can only find t-shirts online that promote it LOL

it’s not. Running is.

The strange thing is that I stopped drinking so that I could get up earlier, so I could operate in the day with a renewed zest. And to start off that’s what I always felt.. always bounding out of bed like a labrador who wants to kissy kissy when you open the front door.

But since I upped my efforts in training I’m increasingly finding it harder and harder to both stay awake at night (that’s a good thing except I want to use evenings to learn and appreciate not being drunk!) and to get up. The Ache over is real, it’s replaced the hang over!. My body is literally rebuilding constantly, I can feel the cogs of redevelopment turning. It’s not only physical though, it’s causing my mind to bend and my ability to concentrate is often depleted.

Perhaps this is my body telling me to slow down. I’m not yet sure if it is. Right now I am instead heading it off by training more. Today for example I rowed it out. Anyway.. I just needed to unload. Fascinating to see what happens with the mind when you push the body (perhaps too much) —

Wakey wakey ache ache!

found this amazing new magazine for everyday normal runners

Purely as an aside, and because I am proud I am letting you know that yesterday I was photographed for a new magazine! I am so excited. I was asked to write for a one of magazine that would go out to 10k people! The photographer who shot me also photographed the entire contents of the new RUN FOR YOUR LIFE magazine that recently completed a successful Kickstarter campaign. It’s now ready to buy. It’s amazing to read about non professionals, to understand the why of running from a range of normal humans.

contact me on mills@ustwo.com — please!!!

--

--