Deconstructing My Reading Habits

Understanding my Purposeful Discipline for Knowledge

Doug Arcuri
5 min readOct 19, 2020

Recently I had a conversation about my reading habits. Speaking through it, I realized the process I follow is purposeful. To better understand my motivations, I drew a diagram, similar to how I blog. In this write, I will step through and highlight the essential parts. By sharing my thinking with others, it will memorialize my important goal.

My Inspiration for Reading Books Comes From Others

When I choose books to read, commitment sparks from a conversation with another individual, mentor, or leader combined with a motivation factor. This recommendation aligns with a challenge I am experiencing or a skillset to improve. For instance, when I wanted a more holistic view of distributed systems in software in system design interviews, a recommendation for Designing Data-Intensive Applications improved my proficiency.

There are many routes to how I discover books. I am radically open to recommendations, and in some instances, I openly ask others. Book recommendations are also sourced from asynchronous mentorship — listening carefully to podcasts, YouTube, or crawling Amazon adjacent book recommendation lists.

My Idling Time is Where Most Reading Occurs

--

--

Doug Arcuri

New York // Writings that aim to be timeless, explore the human meta, and invoke thought. // Now, toys too. // Also see https://dev.to/solidi