How to Trust Yourself as an INFP

Nicholas Freedman
4 min readAug 22, 2020

3 keys to assist your unorthodox and gentle personality type

Photo by Nicole Geri on Unsplash

I am an INFP on the Meyer-Briggs personality type assessment and I have struggled an acute intensity of self-doubt for most of my life.

I found that this has made it much more difficult to excel in school, relationships, work, and life due to the countless early experiences of external discouragement, invalidation, and a general sense of being misunderstood.

After many years of inner work and counseling, I realized that many of the very things I had been ostracised for, were actually my gifts. That was a huge shift in my outlook on life.

That is not to say everything was, “happily ever after,” from then on, but I now knew down in my bones that the many years of pain and suffering were for something.

I could stop feeling guilty for being sensitive, caring, and philosophical. Now, I could begin to embrace my love of listening, spirituality, literature, poetry, psychology, and observation. New labels began to populate my consciousness that added value to my self-image.

Slowly, my sense of purpose took root. The process of unlearning and self-compassion continues to this day. I cannot recommend it enough to anyone who might be feeling the same way.

You are amazing just the…

--

--

Nicholas Freedman

M.S. Mind-Body Medicine, Ph.D. Student- Depth Psychology, Holistic Healer, and Coach. I help people live a radically authentic life.