I Quit My Job During the Pandemic to Become a Digital Nomad

Here’s how I’m building a business that will give me my freedom

Kristi Jacobsen
Bucket List Nomad

--

Photo by Content Pixie on Unsplash

For the last two years, I’ve been building a side-hustle business. I slowly ventured into the blogging space, then podcasting, then virtual services.

I knew I eventually wanted to ditch the 9–5 so I could travel the world and live my life on my terms, so I put all the pieces into place to one day become a digital nomad.

Only, it’s happening much sooner than I anticipated.

The Impact of COVID-19

COVID-19 sent my entire company into WFH mode, and with self-isolation came hours upon hours and days upon days of reflection.

Is this how I want to live my life?

Is this what I want to do for my career?

How I can check places and trips off my bucket list if I’m tethered to a desk (even during WFH?)

I thought long and hard about my current job and lifestyle, where I wanted to be, and what I wanted to get out of life. And I just knew in my gut that this wasn’t it.

And then my company began feeling the effects of the pandemic. Being in print publishing, the impact of the pandemic was so great they decided to…

--

--

Kristi Jacobsen
Bucket List Nomad

I write about podcasting, entrepreneurship, digital nomadism, and achieving long-term results.