Is Perfectionism Holding You Back?

And how to surrender to the magic of the universe instead…

Jade Scarfone
5 min readNov 12, 2020
Photo by Simone Dalmeri on Unsplash

For so much of my life I prided myself on being a perfectionist. I wore it like a badge of honour. Everything I did had to be at the highest standard and I would put so much pressure on myself to over-perform.

To the point where I would do things like go home after school and rewrite my notes just because they weren’t neat enough. Yes, this was in the days before we all had laptops. And there was one computer for the whole family to fight over lol.

As the oldest child I felt this need to lead by example. To set a high standard for everyone else to live up to. I wanted to get the best grades because this was how I measured my worth.

In my corporate career I was always the one staying back long after everyone else because I had to get every email sent. Every deal across the line. Keep every client happy.

And once I transitioned to working online, I brought these same tendencies with me. Everything had to be perfect before I would share it. I had to create the perfect image, the perfect content, the perfect courses. Answer every message and email as quickly as possible. To make sure everyone would like me…

The Golden Child

--

--

Jade Scarfone

Tech Witch. Creatrix. Providing innovative and impactful tech solutions for visionary leaders. I write about entrepreneurship & spirituality - jadescarfone.com