My Journey to 3D Printing: Chapter III

Waiting

Ediz Turcan
3 min readJul 1, 2020
Photo by Anthony Tran on Unsplash

What happened before?

Waiting

After a week of waiting I was getting more and more impatient. So I started googling information about my new printer, even though I actually knew everything. The search results were dominated by tutorials on how to upgrade the device. So why shouldn’t I bridge the time preparing all these upgrades? Most affordable printers have a lot of potential for improvement. It starts with simple printable improvements up to complex electronic adjustments.

Creating a shopping list

The first element on my shopping list was two MOSFETs. A normal printer usually has a hot end and a heated bed. These two parts need a lot of energy. Typically this energy goes over the controller board. We’re talking about 10–20 Amperes. The internet is full of stories with a burned controller board. By using an external MOSFET you can redirect this huge amount of energy so the board doesn’t have to handle that much power. You can argue about whether you really need two…

--

--

Ediz Turcan

Working as IT security consultant at adesso SE. Also Creator, Developer and Bitcoin Maximalist