Weekly Machine Learning Research Paper Reading List # 1

Durgesh Samariya
5 min readJul 31, 2020

As a researcher, it is essential to keep up-to-date with literature. Staying up to date with literature is necessary for PhD Student.

Recently I started keeping track of papers that I have read, or I will read in a week. I come across with this post by Connor Shorten. As far as I know, he just posted once. Motivated from this, I thought of making a post on it every week to share with the research community.

From today, I am starting this new series of weekly reading lists where I will be sharing a list of machine learning papers that I will read in a week. This week starting from Aug 3, 2020, I will read five articles on outlier detection.

Photo by Dan Dimmock on Unsplash

Isolation Forest

Authors: Fei Tony Liu, Kai Ming Ting, Zhi-Hua Zhou

Venue : 2008 Eighth IEEE International Conference on Data Mining, 413–422, 2008

Paper : PDF

Abstract:

Most existing model-based approaches to anomaly detection construct a profile of normal instances, then identify instances that do not conform to the normal profile as anomalies. This paper proposes a fundamentally different model-based method that explicitly isolates anomalies instead of profiles normal points. To our best knowledge, the concept of isolation…

--

--

Durgesh Samariya

Ph.D. in Machine Learning 🇳🇿 | Adventurer | Traveller 🧳 | Reader. My interests are in AI, Machine Learning, Python, FastAPI.